Region 2: Texas Medicaid 1115 Waiver

Kudos to the work regional performing providers have done to meet DSRIP project metrics and milestones which were designed to transform healthcare delivery in Texas as well as optimize health system performance through three dimensions, which we call the “Triple Aim:” 1) improving the patient experience of care, including quality and satisfaction; 2) improving the health of populations; and, 3) reducing the per capita cost of health care. Please take a few minutes to stop and celebrate your accomplishments, and use these significant results to motivate you and your colleagues to push forward to make even more substantial impact during the remainder of the current waiver period.

Important Dates

September 10, 2015–UTMB, anchor for RHP 2, held its final regional meeting for Demonstration Year (DY) 4. Please find the meeting agenda, presentation, and handouts attached

September 25, 2015–RHP 2 Behavioral Health Learning Collaborative was held at the Baptist Hospital of Southeast Texas (740 Hospital Drive, Suite 350, Beaumont, TX 77701)-Spindletop Room

September 30, 2015–HHSC has confirmed that all Category 3 outcomes currently selected for compliance monitoring by Myers and Stauffer will be notified of the final results of their review and any corrective action needed

September 30, 2015–The DSRIP Extension Webinar was scheduled for Wednesday, September 30, 2015 from 1:30 – 3:00 PM, Central Daylight Time. HHSC discussed planning for transition and working with CMS on the protocols

October 1, 2015–October DY4 reporting begins

October 2, 2015–The Statewide Learning Collaborative Summit evaluation survey link,, will be open until COB Friday, October 2, 2015. HHSC hopes to get feedback from both in-person participants and those who viewed via live stream

October 8, 2015–HHSC has scheduled the October DY4 Reporting webinar for Thursday, October 8, 2015, 10:00 – 11:30 AM Central Daylight Time

October 9, 2015–HHSC will be sending out requests for additional information for projects under review for continuation in the extension period starting the week of September 14th through October 9th and may send additional requests starting again in November through December. Providers will have one week to respond and may request additional time if needed. HHSC will only be contacting providers if HHSC needs additional information, so some providers may not hear from HHSC. HHSC plans to notify all providers of the review results in late January

October 23, 2015–Final date to submit questions regarding October reporting and inform HHSC of any issues with DY4 data in the reporting system

October 31, 2015–The October DY4 reporting deadline is 11:59 PM on October 31, 2015

November 6, 2015–HHSC will post the estimated IGT due for October reporting based on milestones and metrics reported as achieved. Final IGT due will be based on HHSC review and approval

November 20, 2015–(If applicable) IGT changes in entities or proportion of IGT among entities submitted to HHSC ( using the IGT Entity Change Form by November 20, 2015, 5:00 PM (one IGT Entity Change Form per provider)

Important Announcements

Waiver Renewal Planning

The Clinical Champions workgroup, in coordination with HHSC leadership and staff, is developing a process for DSRIP performing providers to demonstrate the benefits and early successes of some of the strongest DSRIP projects through peer assessment reviews.

HHSC posted the 1115 Waiver Extension Application Draft, attachments and Public Notice on the Waiver Renewal page of HHSC Waiver website. HHSC also took comments on this draft from July 6, 2015 to August 5, 2015. A summary of all comments from the public hearings (including the webinar) has been posted on the HHSC Waiver Renewal page.

HHSC will continue to work with stakeholders on detailed programmatic changes to the protocols not addressed in the waiver extension draft. More information on protocol-level proposals were provided at the Statewide Learning Collaborative Summit on August 27-28, 2015. During the DSRIP Extension Webinar on 9/30/2015, HHSC discussed planning for transition and working with CMS on the protocols. The webinar presentation is available here.

Site Managed by Information Design Services">Information Design Services