Community of Developing Educators

The ACADEMY of MASTER TEACHERS is a service organization providing resources and mentoring to UTMB faculty seeking to increase their skills as educators. This program is a part of the AMT mission.
The Community of Developing Educators (CODE) is meant to encourage teaching excellence through a program targeted to and tailored for the specific needs of individual faculty, and to nurture these faculty to become the next generation of academic educators.

To participate, faculty will submit a letter of commitment agreeing to a mentoring relationship with an Academy member.  Within 6 weeks of acceptance, faculty will be required to sign a mentoring contract. Mentors will assist faculty to develop an educational focus and identify strengths and areas of growth in their professional development. Faculty will also agree to draft an educational portfolio using the Academy designed format and participate in at least 10 hours of Academy activities per year. Some of those activities include the May Educational Symposium where the best efforts of UTMB faculty are showcased, and the December Faculty Development Day featuring renowned speakers. Other opportunities include Educational Grand Rounds, Journal Clubs and Academy sponsored workshops.

Letters of commitment will be accepted throughout the year. Participants may choose to voluntarily drop out of the program without penalty. The program has no set end date. Members will be expected to meet together annually to share reflections about the outcomes of their progress.

Participation in CODE is not to be considered as a segue for membership to the Academy of Master Teachers.

Questions may be directed to Ruth E. Levine, MD, CODE Director, at

Back to Home



RUTH E. LEVINE, MD will serve as the director of CODE and is happy to answer any questions via email at or by calling 409-747-9675. Dr. Levine was the inaugural Director of the Academy of Master Teachers. She holds the Clarence Ross Miller Professorship in Psychiatry and is a Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. Dr. Levine is also a member of the University Of Texas Academy Of Health Science Educators.