UTMB Faculty Senate

UTMB Faculty Senate
May 14, 2007
Caduceus Room
4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.


Members Present: T. Albrecht, G. Anderson, W. Au, S. Ayachi, C. Baker, T. Cuellar, D. Freeman, P. Gallagher, J. Gonzalez, L. Grumbles, D. Hudnall, A. Koutrouvelis, S. Leitch, S. Lewis, D. Munsell, G. Olson, C. Phillips, R. Rahr, R. Saavedra, K. Sandor, J. Stobo, P. Watson, S. Weaver, M. Winter, and C. Wisnewski. Guest: Sylvia Magallan, Chris McKee, Bob Skaggs and Trish Wooten.

I. Approval of Agenda of 5/14/07 – The May 14, 2007 agenda was approved.

II. Approval of Minutes of 4/9/07 was done electronically and the minutes have been posted to the Senate web page.

III. President’s Comments – Dr. Stobo gave a legislative update and an update on finances: The legislature is winding down and is in the final week and a half. The conference committee is meeting concerning House vs. Senate bills. Correctional managed care will receive a possible $90 million from the $100 million asked for. The schools received formula driven increases in the amount of $15 million for undergraduate and graduate medical education. There is no interest at the State level to provide additional compensation for indigent care. UTMB provides unsponsored care to 160 counties, of which 78% comes from the following six counties: Galveston, Harris, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Montgomery and Jefferson. The counties are not stepping up to funding this care and it is no longer financially sustainable and hasn’t been since 2002.

IV. Deans’ Corner
• Dr. Watson informed the Senate that Dr. Kathryn Fiandt has accepted the SON’s offer to join the SON faculty as Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and will be the inaugural holder of the Mary Strasburger Cade Chair of Nursing Arts. The School of Nursing has two new tenure track faculty from underrepresented ethnic groups, Dr. Martina Gallagher and Dr. Rosalinda Morales, in addition to hiring Ms. Lisa Hill. Dr. Watson announced that two SON faculty were accepted for induction into the Academy of Master Teachers – Dr. Nonie Mendias and Dr. Linda Rounds. Dr. Watson reported that wonderful things occurred on campus during Nurses Week. Dr. Callender spent an hour out on the plaza.

Dr. Watson introduced Sylvia Magallan, Sr. Administrator Manager supporting the Chief Academic Officer and Dr. Chris McKee, inaugural Director of Institutional Effectiveness.

• Dr. Protas informed the Senate that the Department of Physical Therapy was having a site visit today with consultants from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. If the site visit is successful, the DPT will be considered for approval by the THECB in July. It will be the first professional doctorate offered by the School of Allied Health Sciences.

Dr. Protas announced that Dr. Vicki Freeman, Dr. Suzanne Peloquin and Dr. Richard Rahr were elected to the University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education and Erin Glynn, doctoral student in Rehabilitation Sciences, was elected President of the GSBS Graduate Student Organization.

A Student Forum will be held May 15 to discuss the newly developed SGA document on Student Rights and Responsibilities. Dr. Rebecca Saavedra and Raymond Lewis will lead the discussion.

The School of Allied Health Sciences and the Transitional Learning Center hosted the Galveston Brain Injury Conference on April 26 and 27. This invitation only conference brings together the outstanding scientists and clinicians to discuss the most current issues in the rehabilitation and management of individuals with acquired brain injury.

The SAHS Interdisciplinary Studies activities for May include an organized asthma education program for children and families at Frontera de Salud, faculty and students worked at Alamo and Rosenberg Elementary Schools, evaluated a Spanish language program, participated in projects on the ACE unit and on Electronic Medicals Records, volunteered for the fishing tournament for people with special needs, and conducted sports physicals.

• Dr. Anderson informed the Senate that Dr. Lieberman was in Dallas recently and was instrumental in securing $2 million from an alumnus of UTMB. Dr. Anderson informed the Senate that in regards to UTMB’s Information Systems, PeopleSoft can’t do reports. Hyperion, a new program can produce good reports, including those that show profit and loss. The SOM hopes to transition all reports to Hyperion in a year. We haven’t done a good job on training.

Dr. Anderson also informed the Senate that one-half of departments in the School of Medicine and the School of Allied Health Sciences have been visited with in regards to the Institutional Clinical Strategic Plan and the School of Nursing will receive a visit soon. In regards to Institutional Budget hearings, Dr. Anderson informed the Senate that he wouldn’t be sure of budget numbers until about 30 days after the legislative session ends.

Dr. Anderson informed the Senate that the Academy of Master Teachers will hold its first induction ceremony on May 24, 2007. He also informed the Senate that evaluations were being conducted in the SOM that weren’t done last year for SACS.

IV. UTMB Compact – Mr. Bob Skaggs

Mr. Skaggs presented a PowerPoint presentation to the Senate on the UT System Compact Process for FY 2008-2009. A copy of the PowerPoint will be kept in the Senate files for future reference.

V. UTMB Senate Response to Draft FAC Proposal – Dr. Albrecht

Dr. Albrecht led discussion of the FAC document that indicates that an institution’s faculty governance body or representative of that body should be involved in the development of that institution’s faculty compensations plans (FCPs), with the requirement that such plans have the approval of that faculty’s governance entity. Some senators supported/suggested that terms in FCPs be defined and consistent across the UT system and input be provided by faculty and senators but that approval should come from the individual schools’ governing bodies. Dr. Albrecht asked that additional feedback and comments be emailed to him prior to the May 24-25 FAC meeting.

VI. Chair’s Comments—Dr. Baker

• Dr. Baker informed the Senate that Chair-Elect nominations would be due next month in June. She also informed the Senate that Senators from the GSBS would not be eligible because the current Chair-Elect Dr. Albrecht is from the GSBS.

Dr. Baker announced that the Support Staff Professionals would be having their 50th Anniversary reception on Wednesday, June 27 from 2-5 p.m. in the Levin Hall Dining Room. Dr. Baker also offered her congratulations to Dr. Jose Gonzalez and Dr. Gayle Olson for their recent recognition as inaugural members of the UTMB Academy of Master Teachers.

VII. Past Chair’ Comments – Dr. Winter had no report.

VIII. Chair-Elect Comments – Dr. Albrecht had no additional report.

IX. Senate Business

Committee Reports
o Governance – Dr. Freeman reported that Debra Munsell will be attending IHOP meetings as a Senate representative. Dr. Freeman also reported that he had not obtained part-time faculty numbers and percentages for UTMB. He asked Ms Lashway’s assistance on this. Dr. Koutrouvelis will meet with SOM-Austin faculty in June to discuss the UTMB Faculty Senate with them and determine their interest in participating in Senate activities and meetings.
o Faculty Quality – Dr. Rahr reported that his committee is still addressing the Faculty Grievance Policy and the Faculty Compensation Plan
o Administrative and Academic Affairs – Dr. Li was out-of-town.

Meeting adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

Committee meetings followed.

Next Faculty Senate Meeting: June 11, 2007 at 4:30 p.m. in the Caduceus Room.