UTMB Faculty Senate

UTMB Faculty Senate

April 14th 2008

Caduceus Room, 4:30 pm – 6:00 pm



Present:  Drs. T. Albrecht, G. Anderson, C. Baker, V. Brooke, E. Cuellar, D. Hudnall, A. Hudson Jones, R. Konig, R. Leonard, S. Lewis, K. Mossberg, D. Munsell, J. Ruiz, K. Sandor, G. Steer, P. Watson, G. Weaver, N. Wills, C. Wisnewski, S. Lieberman


I.                    Approval of Agenda of 4-14-08 –The April 14, 2008 agenda was approved.


II.                 Approval of Minutes of 03-10-08 – The minutes of the March 10, 2008 meeting were approved via e-mail by a vote of 14 to 0.


III.               Dr. Albrecht reminded everyone to keep their comments limited to the time allotted to ensure that there was adequate time to address all the items on the agenda.


IV.              Provost’s Comments (Dr. Garland Anderson) – (5 Minutes)

·        Recently, UTMB received a draft of the UT Policy on Conflict of Interest for review and approval. Dr. Anderson requested that any recommendations from the Faculty Senate should be sent to the Council of Deans at the earliest opportunity to efficiently expedite the process.


IV.       Vice President for Education Comments (Dr. Pam Watson) – (5 Minutes)

            (Written report provided by Dr. Watson is appended).

·        The SACS onsite review committee has submitted its final report. Drs. McKee and Cooper are working on the response to the two minor recommendations made by the onsite review committee.  We will submit our response to SACS by July 1, 2008. An abstract will be submitted for presentation at the next SACS conference highlighting the Quality Enhancement Plan and its development.

·        Letters of Intent for Proposals for Innovations in Health Professions Education are due May 1st. It is anticipated that 4-6 grants in the range of $100,000 to $250,000 per year will be awarded. Invitations for full proposals will be made by June 1 with full proposals due by September 1.  Awards will be made early in October 2008.

·        Key leadership searches are ongoing for the Dean of the School of Allied Health Sciences, synergy Director and the Associate Vice President for University Student Services.

·        The Faculty Grievance Policy has been submitted to the UTMB IHOP Committee for their review.


V.                 Dean’s Corner – (2 Minutes each)


Dr. Anderson, Dean of the School of Medicine reported on the following:

·        When any employee is working on a UTMB computer (even through VPN access at home or searching on Google) that all email, documents, searches, etc. is discoverable. He urged everyone to use discretion when forwarding information that might be considered confidential or inappropriate. Dr. Anderson also requested that this reminder be shared with faculty colleagues and disseminated as needed.


Dr. Cooper, Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences – No report


Dr. Protas, Interim Dean of the School of Allied Health Sciences reported on the following: (Written report provided by Dr. Protas is appended).

·        The report was entered into the minutes by Dr. Baker in Dr. Protas’ absence.

·        Dr. Baker requested that should any questions arise after the members had reviewed the document to please contact herself or Dr. Protas for follow-up.


Dr. Watson, Dean of the School of Nursing reported on the following:

(Written report provided by Dr. Watson is appended).

·              Friday, April 18th is the School of Nursing Commencement. The Rebecca Sealy Distinguished Lecturer will be Diane Mason.

·              SON Graduates exit testing results suggest that they will have no difficulty in receiving licensure.

·              Dr. Watson thanked the SON Faculty present for the excellent work they have done recently working with the curriculum.


VI.       Chair’s Comments. – Dr. Albrecht reported on the following:

·              The Senate Executive Committee met recently and came to a consensus on the need to develop a Senate IHOP Committee to review proposed BOR IHOP policies that impact faculty. A proposed recommendation on the configuration of such a committee was read into the minutes by Dr. Mossberg (recommendation appended). Dr. Albrecht emphasized that due to the need to turn around policy reviews within 60 days by the institution the committee should be able to respond in a timely and efficient manner without unnecessary delay. A motion was made by Dr. Lewis and seconded by Dr. Cuellar to accept the proposed recommendation and to use volunteers to fill committee positions. Discussion focused on several questions regarding how representatives would be identified and if they would be relieved of other committee duties. These issues were tabled for further discussion at a later date.  Dr. Hudnall amended the original motion to include that a representative from the Senate IHOP Committee would attend the monthly Institutional IHOP Committee Meetings. The motion was approved by 14 members with no one opposed.  It was noted that this will require revision to the Faculty Senate By-Laws and approval by the faculty.

·              Dr. Albrecht asked for a call for volunteers for the Senate IHOP committee and to send him their names by Friday, April 18th. This provides Dr. Hudnall, who will serve as co-chair, time to begin the process of assuring that the committee has balanced representation from all the schools.


VII.      Chair-Elect’s Comments– Dr. Hudnall had no comments


VIII.     Past-Chair’s Comments and bylaw changes – Dr. Baker reported on the following

·        The task force has again reviewed and updated the UTMB Faculty Senate By-Laws with additional revisions.  Dr. Baker will distribute these revisions via email to all Senators for their review and approval prior to the next Senate meeting. Once approved the By-Laws will require final approval by the faculty. Dr. Baker will be available to discuss any of the revisions should questions arise.


IX.       Senate Business


Committee Reports

Academic and Administrative Affairs Committee

·        Dr. Kurt Mossberg reported that the ombudsperson position description was distributed to the UTMB Faculty Senate via e-mail for approval on March 11th and voting closed on March 25th, 2008.  The Faculty Senate approved the description by a vote of 16 approved, 10 against, and 9 no response. Dr. Wisnewski noted that a no response counts as an affirmative or approved. Dr. Hudnall stated that the description will now be sent back to the Council of Deans for finalization.


            Faculty Quality Committee

·        No report.


Governance Committee

·        Dr. Fox presented a handout of the proposed recommendations from the task force for the Faculty Compensation Plan (appended).  Dr. Albrecht noted that this was an initial opportunity to begin the review process and that it will be necessary to call a special meeting in two weeks of the members to address specific details that may need to be modified. He asked that everyone limit their comments at this time until they have had a chance to review the document. Dr. Fox read into the minutes the proposed recommendations and general comments were provided from the floor. Members will be notified of the date and time of the special meeting in the next few days. Dr. Albrecht encouraged everyone to attend and be ready to provide their input.


New business:

·        No new business.


A motion for adjournment was made by Dr. Leonard and seconded by Dr. Hudnall.

Meeting adjourned at 5:43 pm.