University of Texas Medical Branch
- Institute for Human Infections and Immunity
UTMB Map&Directions Comments&Questions Site Map Contact Us

Frederick Murphy, DVM, PhD selected as 2009 Penn Vet World Leadership Award

April 09, 2009Dr. Murphy

School of Medicine Faculty Accomplishments

It is my pleasure to announce that Frederick A. Murphy, D.V.M., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pathology, and James W. McLaughlin Professor in Residence, was selected as the 2009 recipient of the Penn Vet World Leadership Award. This distinguished recognition is the largest monetary award bestowed in veterinary medicine, and we are proud of and honored by Dr. Murphy's singular accomplishment. The award is given annually to a veterinarian who has dramatically changed the practice and image of the profession and substantially influenced the lives and careers of others. It provides the recipient with $100,000 in unrestricted funding, underwritten by the Vernon and Shirley Hill Foundation. Dr. Murphy plans to contribute some of the prize money toward Galveston's recovery. You can read the announcement from the University of Pennsylvania here.

Dr. Murphy is a world renowned virologist with special expertise in new, emerging and re-emerging diseases, as well as bioterrorism. His innovative work has made an indelible mark on international and national public health. Dr. Murphy was one of the scientists who first identified the Ebola and Marburg viruses.

Dr. Murphy has held positions at numerous government and academic institutions including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Australian National University, and the University of California, Davis, where he served as Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine and a Distinguished Professor in both the School of Veterinary Medicine and in the Department of Internal Medicine, School of Medicine. He joined the UTMB faculty in 2005. Dr. Murphy has been recognized throughout his career for his scientific contributions. He has been presented with multiple honorary degrees and received numerous awards, including the Richard Moreland Taylor Award of the American Committee on Arthropod-Borne Viruses of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. Dr. Murphy was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science. His expertise continues to be sought, and he recently was appointed to the National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council, Report Review Committee (RRC), the Standing Committee on Biodefense, National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council, Institute of Medicine, and the Program Advisory Committee, Burroughs Wellcome Fund, Training Program on Bringing Together Medical Population Science and Laboratory Science. Dr. Murphy has published over 400 peer-reviewed, articles, reviews, proceedings, chapters and books, and served as editor or on the editorial board for a number of journals and publications. As an educator, he has trained many students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty, and launched the careers of several notable leaders in science.

Dr. Murphy earned his D.V.M. from Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine, in 1959 and his Ph.D. from the University of California, School of Veterinary Medicine, Davis, in 1964.

Dr. Murphy is a scientific leader and dedicated educator and administrator, and we are most fortunate to have him on our faculty. Please join me in congratulating him on this well-deserved award.


Garland D. Anderson, M.D.
Executive Vice President and Provost
Dean, School of Medicine
Thomas N. and Gleaves T. James Distinguished Chair

Read all news