Congratulations to Dr. Rey Vivo, Cardiology Chief Fellow at UTMB, for being recognized by one of the most prestigious, high-impact cardiology journals, Circulation: Heart Failure, for his research in advanced heart failure and transplant. His original, first-authored article entitled “Care and Outcomes of Hispanic Patients Admitted With Heart Failure With Preserved or Reduced Ejection Fraction: Findings From Get With The Guidelines – Heart Failure” was selected by the editors of Circulation: Heart Failure as one of the most important articles published in 2012. We are honored to have Dr. Rey Vivo in our Cardiology Fellowship program. We are extremely proud of his hard work, dedication, and contributions made to both clinical research and patient care.

Winnie Richards, a member of the Sodexo Environmental Services (ES) team working at UTMB has been named the 2012 recipient of the Hygiene Specialist Excellence award sponsored by UMF Corporation.
The award, in collaboration with IEHA and in its third year, was established to acknowledge the invaluable contribution of ES - the first line of defense - in providing a safe patient environment and reducing preventable healthcare-associated infections. ES managers nominate the housekeeper of their choice to receive the award.
"Winnie Richards works in the UTMB Health Burn Unit and her diligence in helping to prevent infections is exemplary," said UTMB Health ES director Jason Botkin in nominating Richards. "On several occasions, she has been publicly recognized for her role in helping to achieve zero HAI or nosocomial infection rates. Having Winnie receive the Hygiene Specialist Excellence award honors a dedicated individual who every day makes the extra effort in the name of patient safety. We're very proud to have her as part of our team."
The Hygiene Specialist Excellence award includes an all-expense-paid vacation for two to South Beach, FL, including airfare and beachfront accommodations.  A committee of industry leaders selected the recipient after a review of nominees.

Congratulations to Jaipreet Suri, School of Medicine for receiving the Excellence in Professionalism Award for January – March 2013.
Suri was nominated by Jarrett D. Aldinger, first-year Anesthesia resident.
“Jaipreet is one of the best medical students I have ever worked with. I had the pleasure of working with him during his Neonatal ICU & Surgery rotations, and I was very impressed with Jaipreet’s professionalism, work ethic and dedication to his patients, Aldinger said. "He was always the first medical student at the hospital and would record the morning labs and vitals for all our team's patients. This really lightened the workload for us residents and helped morning rounds run much more efficiently. Jaipreet was always willing to stay late and help with any floor work or to return to his patient’s room to see if they had any questions and to see if there is anything he could do to make them more comfortable. His professionalism and compassion especially shined in his interactions with the patient's families in NICU. He always remembered the parents’ names, as well as their baby's. He took the time to update the parents on their baby every day."

Abhishek Parmar, Gabriela Vargas, Dr. Christine Arcari, Lawrence J. Panas, Amit Kumar, Amol KarmarkarThe Third Annual Public Health Symposium sponsored by
the Department of Preventive Medicine & Community Health was held in William C. Levin Hall, in celebration of National Public Health Week.
The keynote speaker was Glen P. Mays, F. Douglas Scutchfield Endowed Professor, Health Services & Systems Research, College of Public Health, University of Kentucky.  Mays, whose research focuses on strategies for organizing and financing public health services, preventive care, and chronic disease management for underserved populations, spoke on“Public Health is ROI: Evidence, Experience & Remaining Questions to Answer."
Poster presentations and awards were given during the event and included:
Sigma Xi Overall Public Health Poster Winner

Amol Karmarkar, student , Public Health Program

PMCH Departmental Award

Amit Kumar, student, Rehabilitation Sciences / Public Health Program

Gabriela Vargas, student, Clinical Sciences Program and Surgery Post Doc

Abhishek Parmar, student, Clinical Sciences Program and Surgery Post Doc

Laura Ray Scholarship in Population Health Sciences

Lawrence J. Panas. He is the first recipient of the scholarship.

Public Health Community Partners Recognized

Galveston Parks and Recreation

St. Vincent’s House