The Nu Chapter of Pi Theta Epsilon, the national occupational therapy honor society, recently inducted new members from the UTMB Class of 2014. Dr. Sophie Rydin, keynote speaker, discussed “The Power of Passion in OT Scholarship.” Jodi Singer, OTS, a second-year student and President of Nu Chapter, presided over the ceremony and gave a brief motivational speech. Chapter Advisors, April Cowan, OTR, OTD, CHT, and Cara Westerman, MOT, OTR, also presided over the ceremony. 

Inductees included the following first-year masters level occupational therapy students: Lisa Abrameit, Joanna Baczek, Faye Barnhart, Jaclyn Collins, Cody Cooper, Christie Escobar, Katelyn Fore, Ana Garibay, Ashlyn Hudson, William Juch, Brittney Miles, Jenna Potz-Nielsen, Lauren Patton, Haley Smith, Jeremy Stovall, Jacob Wardell, Aubrey Worlow, Kelly Zipp. In addition, Dr. Diane Collins was inducted as an honorary member of the honor society. Inductees were invited to apply based on academic standing. They were selected after a review of criteria that included submission of a scholarly work, prior civic and community activities, membership in professional organizations, and a written essay.
An induction ceremony and reception were held on campus on Saturday, June 8, 2013. Inductees and their families and friends, as well as faculty from the occupational therapy department attended the event. As part of the ceremony, each inductee read excerpts from a scholarly work to the audience and made a pledge to advance the profession of occupational therapy.
Pi Theta Epsilon stands for the three first letters of the Greek words meaning “Advancement in Occupational Therapy.” The purposes of the organization are: (1) to recognize and encourage scholastic excellence of occupational therapy students; (2) to contribute to the advancement of the field of occupational therapy through the scholarly activities of student and alumni members; and (3) to provide a vehicle for students enrolled in accredited programs in occupational therapy to exchange information and to collaborate regarding scholarly activities.