The Emergency Department staff recently celebrated ED Staff week from  October 6-12. Several nurses got together and designed a staff t-shirt for everyone to wear during the week.  The staff was recognized by UTMB patients and co-workers throughout the hospital for taking such good care of everyone.

Dr. Virginia A. Rauth associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Section Chief, Women’s HealthCare, was elected President of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists at its annual meeting in San Antonio in September. She will serve a two year term.

The Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists is one of the oldest specialty societies in the United States. Its’ first annual meeting was held at UTMB in 1930. It has a long tradition of physician education and annually supports a state-wide resident research symposium.  The organization also serves to be an advocate for the physicians of Texas and for women’s health care issues with the state and its’ agencies.  

Dr. Anish Bhardwaj, has been named professor and chair of the UTMB Department of Neurology. Prior to joining UTMB, he was chair and professor of neurology, neuroscience and neurosurgery, as well as neurologist-in-chief at Tufts Medical Center in Boston. He also was vice chair of the neurology departments at both Oregon Health and Science University and Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Bhardwaj’s clinical and research emphasis is on neurocritical care and protecting th brain after stroke and other forms of brain injury.

Elizabeth Protas, dean of the UTMB School of Health Professions, has been appointed for a six-year term to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s Health-Related Institutions Formula Advisory Committee. The committee is charged with reviewing and advising on formula-funding policies and procedures. Formula-funding is the money provided by the state of Texas to state-supported institutions and is based upon enrollment, type of institution, discipline and various other factors as directed by the legislature.