The Nu Chapter of Pi Theta Epsilon, the national occupational therapy honor society, recently inducted new members from the UTMB Class of 2012.  Emily Kotara, a second-year student and vice president of Nu Chapter, presided over the ceremony and gave a brief motivational exhortation on behalf of President Shakeitha Grant, OTS, who could not be present. 

Inductees included the following first-year master's level occupational therapy students:  Ashley Broadwater, Rachel Campbell, Ashley Carter, Rachael Chambers, Sarah Dressler, Brandi Eckersley, Laura Hartmann, Sara Holland, Kathryn Krog, Beth McCullough, Cara Phillips, Kayla Reynolds, Jenna Rozell, Ashley Sutton and Kim Vu. 

Inductees were selected after a review of criteria that included submission of a scholarly work, prior civic and community activities, membership in professional organizations, and a written essay. 

Pi Theta Epsilon stands for the three first letters of the Greek words meaning “advancement in occupational therapy.”  The purpose of the organization is to:  (1) recognize and encourage scholastic excellence of occupational therapy students; (2) contribute to the advancement of the field of occupational therapy through the scholarly activities of student and alumni members; and (3) provide a vehicle for students enrolled in accredited programs in occupational therapy to exchange information and to collaborate regarding scholarly activities.