Pictured are (l to r) – Rabbi Jimmy Kessler (past member, inaugural CLC chair), Sam Collins (new member), DLC, Gwen Wagner (current member and chair), Gina Spagnola (current member), Vic Pierson (past member), Fred Raschke (new member), Dr. James W. LeDuc (GNL Director), Dr. Scott C. Weaver (GNL Scientific Director).  Not pictured are:  Dr. Bowen Loftin, past member; Matt Doyle, new member; Jerry Mohn, Rev. Kerry Tillmon, Susie Green and Carlos Pena (current members).

UTMB President Dr. David L. Callender recently hosted an appreciation luncheon for members of UTMB’s Community Liaison Committee. The CLC provides a forum in which UTMB can advise public representatives in a detailed and timely manner about issues of possible public interest related to infectious diseases research, particularly issues involving work performed in campus biocontainment laboratories like the Galveston National Laboratory.  Members serve 3-year terms.  Past, present and future members of the CLC were recognized at the luncheon. 

For more information on the CLC, please visit www.utmb.edu/gnl/community/clc.shtml.