The UTMB Health Multi-Share Plan, a cooperative program to help small business owners provide health benefits for their employees, has launched a new website.

The site provides detailed information on program benefits and eligibility requirements for both business owners and employees.

By the numbers

January marked the anniversary of the relaunch of, the university’s patient-focused web portal.

In its first year, the award-winning website was visited more than 243,000 times by more than 157,000 people who viewed a combined 1 million pages worth of information about UTMB’s physicians, facilities and services.

Keck Center Symposium

A symposium held last week to celebrate the reopening of the Keck Center for Virus Imaging at UTMB Health brought together researchers in the field of infectious diseases.

Speakers included Wah Chiu and B.V. Venkatar Prasad, Baylor College of Medicine; Hong Zhou, UCLA; Jane Tao, Rice University; Sheemei Lok, Duke-NUS; and Jun Liu, UTHSC.

Medical branch researchers included Stan Watowich, Kay Choi, Marc Morais and Michael Sherman.

Visiting campus

“Homologous recombination from beginning to end” was presented by Patrick Sung, professor in the department of molecular biophysics and biochemistry at Yale University.

“Lipids, oxidation and Alzheimer’s disease” was presented by Ian Murray, assistant professor in the department of neuroscience and experimental therapeutics at Texas A&M Health Science Center, at the invitation of the Mitchell Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases.


“Movement complexity and system adaptability: Evidence from reaching dynamics in individuals with stroke” was presented by Amit Sethi, assistant professor of occupational therapy in the School of Health Professions, as part of the Center for Rehabilitation Sciences 2010-11 Seminar Series.

“Tracer methodology in metabolic research” was the topic of Labros Sidossis, professor in internal medicine-geriatrics, the Sealy Center on Aging, Institute for Translational Sciences and Shriners Burns Institute.

University of Texas Academy

Three UTMB faculty members are the newest members of the University of Texas Academy for Health Science Education, an organization of distinguished scholars recognized for teaching excellence.

The new members are Norbert Herzog, professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology; Dr. Ronald Levy, professor of anesthesiology, neuroscience and cell biology; and Dr. Patricia Rogers, professor of pediatrics and family medicine.

The three are among the 12 new members chosen from all six UT health institutions.