The UTMB Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences held its 43rd commencement ceremony on May 6, in Levin Hall. During the commencement, 41 graduates were awarded doctoral degrees, 18 were awarded master’s degrees and three received their combined M.D./Ph.D. degrees, bringing the total number of GSBS alumni to more than 1,600.

Dr. David L. Callender, UTMB president, and Cary W. Cooper, GSBS dean, presided over the ceremony. Professor Pomila Singh, professor in the departments of neuroscience and cell biology, biochemistry and molecular biology, and internal medicine, was recognized with the Graduate Student Organization’s Distinguished Teaching Award.  

The GSBS Distinguished Faculty Research Award was given to Dr. Robert Tesh, a professor in the departments of pathology and microbiology and immunology, and director of the World Reference Center for Emerging Viruses and Arboviruses. Dr. Pomila Singh received the GSBS Distinguished Faculty Service Award. Dr. George Jackson received the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award. Jackson graduated from UTMB in 1993 and is a professor in the departments of neurology, neuroscience and cell biology, and biochemistry, as well as director of the George and Cynthia Mitchell Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases.