The John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine announced the recipients of three distinguished awards —the Academy Award for Excellence, the Humanism Essay Award and the Thayer Award — during the May meeting of the Osler Club.

The academy is comprised of physicians in the UTMB School of Medicine selected for their dedication to the ideals of clinical practice, education, and humanities in medicine as taught by Sir William Osler. 

Kristina Medrano, Brian Graska, Brittany Diaz and Rachel Pearson

Nguyen Nguyen received the Award for Excellence in Basic Sciences or Humanites. The academy established this award for an essay written by a senior medical student taking a fourth-year selective course.  Known as Osler Scholars, the faculty members of the academy award the prize to a student whose paper reflects astute observation and either an exceptional grasp of scientific method and analysis or an equally exceptional ability to apply the humanities to the issue discussed, combined with clear articulation of these concepts.

Kristina Medrano received the academy's Humanism Essay Award. Students are asked to write an essay describing an individual who, like Sir William Osler the revered father of modern medicine, personifies the pursuit of knowledge and compassionate service to humanity. The award is open to students interested in the health sciences who attend Galveston College or College of the Mainland. The second place recipient was Brian Graska; runners-up were Brittany Diaz and Sara Galbraith.

Dr. Jennifer Kargel and Dr. Gregory White were the recipients of the Thayer Award. Named after William S. Thayer, Sir William Osler’s first resident, the Thayer Award is given to a resident who demonstrates sound scientific knowledge, compassion towards patients, and dedication to learning and teaching. Residents are nominated by any medical student or faculty and selected by the Osler Student Scholars. 

Dr. Jennifer Kargel Dr. Gregory White