The 17th Annual Salute to Nursing golf tournament and post tournament party was held on Friday, Oct. 7 at the Galveston Country Club. All proceeds from the event support nursing scholarships, specifically for students who are enrolled in an accelerated baccalaureate program - an intensive three-semester program for students who hold a degree in other fields and wish to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree. Upon completion of the program, students are prepared to sit for the state board exam to become a registered nurse.

This year’s tournament involved 144 golfers and was co-chaired by David Murphy and Sue M. Harris. The Post Tournament “Par-Tee”was co-chaired by Sue Anderson and Libbie Walker Ansell. Along with these co-chairs were committee members: Steven Conner, Linda Dickson, Jennifer Tucker Dominguez, Bill Ross, Joe Rozier, Mary Ann Salch, and Stephanie Vasut.

Winners included:

  • Titus Harris Award and Team with the Lowest Gross – UTMB Department of Internal Medicine (Steve Conner, Marc Shabot, Charlie Corbell, Gerald Cleveland)
  • 2nd Place, Low Net – Sodexo (Jason Botkin, Alan Cowley, Nick Lazarro, Shane Johns)
  • 1st Place, Low Net – Karr Limousine (Zak Shakhshir, Mike St. Clair, Willie Walker, Norman Quiroz)
  • First ever, Women’s Division: 1st place, Low Net – Julie Hoopingarner, Anita Weiner, Mary Ann Emerson, Nancy Mafrige
  • McGanity Award and Team with Lowest Net – UTMB Office of the President (Rex Ross, Charlie Worthen, Ryan Micks, Stan Ledbetter)
  • Closest to the Pin – Stan Ledbetter, Sherry Vetter, Chuck Anderson, Andy Alvarez
  • Longest Drive for Men – Gerald Cleveland
  • Longest Drive for Women – Barbara Thompson, MD

The Post Tournament “Par-Tee” immediately followed the golf tournament and included a barbeque buffet along with music provided by Daulongs Mobile Music. Live and silent auctions were held throughout the day. Proceeds from the event have totalled over $75,000 and are still coming in.

Pictured are tournament party committee members Libbie Ansell Walker, co-chair; Sue Anderson, co-chair; Dean of the School of Nursing Pam Watson; Linda Dickson and Mary Ann Sulch; front: Dee Ann Forasiepi.