The Sir Osler Name that Book Competition was held recently in Levin Hall. Five Galveston elementary school teams participated: Parker, Oppe, Early Childhood University, Odyssey Academy and Morgan. Parker’s team emerged as the winner after several rounds of sudden-death competition with Oppe.

Sean Paschall moderated with Roxi Radi assisting. Judges were UTMB’s Dr. Patricia Beach, fourth-year medical student Greg Valentine, and Karen Stanley, children’s librarian with the Rosenberg Library

Mary Douglas, nurse educator in Labor & Delivery has been selected as the February 2012 Daisy Award recipient for her work with families who have experienced the loss of an infant.  Mary's peers recognized her for going the extra mile to assist the staff and providing invaluable photographic mementos to the family during these times. She provides the staff with educational opportunities, as well as assists them in keeping up with current licensing and required classes. 

UTMB Health was recognized by The North Galveston County Chamber of Commerce at their 64th Annual Awards Banquet. The theme was a “Salute to the Roaring 20’s,” and honored member businesses that have 20 years or more of service in the community. 
Receiving the award for UTMB Health are (seated) Diana Browning, chief Ambulatory Operations officer, (standing left to right) Linda Shin, associate vice president for Ambulatory Business Operations, Cheryl Bryant, chief nursing officer for Ambulatory Care, Bonnie Benkula, associate vice president for Ambulatory Operations, and Marjorie Kovacevich, business manager for Ambulatory Operations. 
In addition to UTMB’s award, Kovacevich was inducted as vice chairman for the North Galveston County Chamber, which is a working partnership of business, industrial and professional people, coordinating efforts as a volunteer organization dedicated to the economic development of Clear Lake Shores, Dickinson, League City and Kemah.

The International Society for Zinc Biology  recently presented the inaugural ISZB Prize to Dr. Chris Frederickson, in honor of his lifetime of research into zinc neurobiology.
Frederickson is an adjunct professor in the departments of Neuroscience & Cell Biology and Preventive Medicine & Community Health at UTMB. The award was presented at the ISZB international meeting in Australia, this past January.


Congratulations to Zoila Ramos from University Parking Facilities who is the February winner of a new 7” Android Touch Tablet with Wi-Fi!
In an effort to increase early completion of the employee mandatory training and avoid end of the fiscal year rush, UTMB Health is offering a new incentive contest. Complete your online training and be eligible for the drawing. Only four drawings remain - Mach, April, May and June - so complete your training soon. 
Click here for more information.