The diabetes education program at the UTMB Stark Diabetes Center recently was awarded continued recognition from the American Diabetes Association (ADA) through January 3, 2016.

The ADA recognition effort began in 1986 and is a voluntary process which assures that diabetes education programs meet national standards for diabetes self-management education. One of the primary goals of the education recognition program is to ensure high-quality, consistent education for patient self-care. Unnecessary hospital admissions and some of the acute and chronic complications of diabetes may be prevented through self-management education.  
The Stark Diabetes Center provides state of the art clinical care, research and education in the area of disease conditions and syndromes including but not limited to diabetes, dyslipidemia and obesity, as well as the metabolic syndrome.

Dr. Gulshan Sharma, associate professor, director of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and director of the Medical Intensive Care Unit in the Department of Internal Medicine, has been appointed as holder of the Sealy and Smith Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine. The endowment was established by the Sealy and Smith Foundation in 1984. The Foundation’s generous contributions have created or supported numerous endowed faculty positions at UTMB, helping the university build for the future.

Nicole Zeisig, Jason Burrows, Kelley Romar (from GISD), Rosalyn Adigun, Nina Vaidya.UTMB’s Gold Humanism Honor Society recently raised $500 to purchase school supplies for students of Galveston Independent School District.
Supplies included hand santizer, printer paper, composition books, wood pencils and 2-pocket portfolios.

UTMB, O’Grady Peyton International, & Clinical Staffing Solutions were instrumental in bringing 20 international nurses from the Phillipines, Jamaica, the Bahamas and Canada to provide support for the 7B Medicine Unit in John Seal Tower and the MICU. 
Pictured are the nurses, along with the Gillian Williams, clinical educator (far left, front row) from O’Grady Peyton that helped facilitate their preparation for practice in the United States. The nurses are: Veronica Serona, Ruby Dayasen, Cheryl Bryan-Dawkins, Keva Clark, Dione Hickling, Estrella Ofquila, Sally Villanueva, Maria Guiral, Andrea Campbell, Rosario Mendoza, Kim Garcia, Sandra Mendez-Lawrence, Claudine Witter, Adel Macaraig, Shanique Bethel, Rosalina Run, Joni Bareo, Donna Torres, Lori Nepomuceno, and Yasmin Bulagas.