« Back

Our Staff

rheumatology banner

Julie  HicksJulie Hicks
Administrative Manager
Division of Rheumatology
Department of Internal Medicine

Diane Lewis Diane Lewis
Staff Nurse IV
Division of Rheumatology
Department of Internal Medicine

Leslie C. Elgin Leslie C. Elgin
Business Coordinator
Phone: 409-772-1755
Fax: 709-772-3394
E-mail: lcelgin@utmb.edu

Michelle Roberts Michelle Roberts
Business Coordinator
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Department of Internal Medicine
Phone: 409.772.3435
Fax: 409.772.3533

The department of internal medicine is developing evidence based clinical protocols which will be available in EPIC (as order sets) for use when admitting patients with these diagnoses. Their AIM is to standardize care and decrease length of stay and readmission rates.

Currently available protocols are:
  • CAP - Community Acquired Pneumonia Order set
  • Congestive Heart Failure (CHF)
  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Diabetic Ketoacidosis Adult, ICU
  • General Medicine Admission
  • Immunodeficiency Flow Panel
  • MICU/CCU Admission Order Set
  • Oral Analgesic Medications
  • Parenteral Opioids
  • Sepsis, Adult ICU
  • 111 - Stroke Alert
  • 112 - Stroke Activation
  • 300086 - Stroke Floor Admission
  • 3000000001 -  Stroke Critical care without tPA
  • 300088 Stroke - Transfer from Critical care to floor
  • 3004002 - Stroke Discharge

All protocols can be found in the EPIC order set section.

» For more information

Meaning Use logo

The department of Internal Medicine has a large role in the Meaningful Use Initiative. Our participation is key for the success of the initiative. Please visit the meaningful use website for important communication and updates from the Meaningful Use Initiative.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.