« Back

News & Events

UTMB Internal Medicine doctors with patient

I Treated One of the American Ebola Patients
Dr. Angela Hewlett (GSBS '09) writes about her experience treating one of the Americans who contracted Ebola in Liberia.
Read More

2014 Texas Super Doctor®
Congratulations to every one of our physicians honored as a 2014 Texas Super Doctor®.
Whether providing excellent patient care, conducting biomedical research or educating tomorrow's physicians, each demonstrated an unwavering commitment to improving the health of Texas.

[ Dr. Karl E. Anderson, Dr. Thomas A. Blackwell, Dr. Vincent R. Conti, Dr. Emilio B. Gonzalez, Dr. J. Andrea Grant, Jr., Dr. Philip H. Keiser, Dr. Aritides P. Koutrouvelis, Dr. A. Scott Lea, Dr. Kevin McKinney, Dr. Peter Melby, Dr. Mukaila A. Raji, Dr. Juan C. Sarria, Dr. Gulshan Sharma, Dr. Sanjiv Sur, Dr. Randall J. Urban, Dr, Vincent G. Valentine, Dr. A. Clinton White Jr.]

2014 Texas Super Doctors

Tenth Annual Respiratory Disease Young Investigator's Forum
Kristin Sokol MD (Assistant Professor, Division of Allergy) recently presented her work at a high profile, invited symposium for promising young academic physician-scientists.

The project, entitled "Choosing Wisely: Adherence by Physicians to Recommended Use of Spirometry in the Diagnosis and Management of Adult Asthma", was awarded a tie for first place in the clinical research section of the Tenth Annual Respiratory Disease Young Investigator's Forum in Washington DC.

Congratulations to Dr Sokol on this prestigious award.

Department of Internal Medicine Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Bernard Karnath!
He is the recipient of the 2013 Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Educator. This is a national award given by the American College of Physicians.

Congratulation to Dr. Sonstein and Dr. Sharma on their recent
recognition at the UT System Quality Conference.

Department of Internal Medicine Grand Rounds

"Who Should Be Screened for Lung Cancer?"

Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
Director for Health Services Research & Implementation Science
Department of Research and Evaluation
Kaiser Permanente Southern California
Pasadena, California

Thursday, February 26, 2015
12:00pm - 1:00pm
Research Bldg. #6, 1.206 Auditorium

Learn more about Internal Medicine Grand Rounds

The department of internal medicine is developing evidence based clinical protocols which will be available in EPIC (as order sets) for use when admitting patients with these diagnoses. Their AIM is to standardize care and decrease length of stay and readmission rates.

Currently available protocols are:
  • CAP - Community Acquired Pneumonia Orderset
  • Congestive Heart Failure (CHF)
  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Diabetic Ketoacidosis Adult, ICU
  • General Medicine Admission
  • Immunodeficiency Flow Panel
  • MICU/CCU Admission Order Set
  • Oral Analgesic Medicaitons
  • Parenteral Opioids
  • Sepsis, Adult ICU
  • 111 - Stroke Alert
  • 112 - Stroke Activation
  • 300086 - Stroke Floor Admission
  • 3000000001 -  Stroke Critical care without tPA
  • 300088 Stroke - Transfer from Critical care to floor
  • 3004002 - Stroke Discharge

All protocols can be found in the EPIC order set section.

» For more information

Meaning Use logo

The department of Internal Medicine has a large role in the Meaningful Use Initiative. Our participation is key for the success of the initiative. Please visit the meaningful use website for important communication and updates from the Meaningful Use Initiative.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.