Set Alerts options

Use the Lync - Options dialog box to customize some of the alerts that Microsoft Lync 2010 communications software displays when issues arise.

What do you want to do?


Open Alerts options

From the Lync main window, you can open the Alerts options in one of two ways:

  • Click the Options button, and then click Alerts.
  • Next to the Options button, click the Show Menu arrow, click Tools, click Options, and then click Alerts.

Top of Page Top of Page

Set an alert when you are added as a contact

By default, when someone adds you as a contact, you’ll receive an alert asking your approval. You can then add the contact to your Contacts list and assign a privacy relationship. If you prefer, you can choose to automatically approve such invite notifications. With this setting, the contact automatically is assigned the Colleagues relationship.

  • Open Alerts options, and to stop being notified when someone adds you as a contact, clear the Notify me when someone adds me to his or her contact list check box.

Top of Page Top of Page

Set your Do Not Disturb options

If you are very busy, setting your status as Do Not Disturb is handy for reducing the number of interruptions you get. But you might still want to keep in touch with important contacts. You can make exceptions for contacts to whom you have assigned the Workgroup relationship (typically your closest co-workers).

Open Alerts options, and do one of the following:

  • To hide all Lync alerts so that you cannot be interrupted when your status is set to Do Not Disturb, click Do not display alerts.
  • To see only conversation invitations from Workgroup members and hide all other alerts when your status is set to Do Not Disturb, click Display only conversation alerts from people in my Workgroup privacy relationship.
  • To see all alerts, but limit conversation invitations to those sent by Workgroup members when your status is set to Do Not Disturb, click Display all alerts, but only conversation alerts from people in my Workgroup privacy relationship.

 Note    If you have set your status to Do Not Disturb and you make a 911 call, your status automatically changes to Available. You can reset it at any time.

Top of Page Top of Page