Institute for Human Infections and Immunity
Photo The Mclaughlin Endowment
Predoctoral Grants
Home » Committee Members

McLaughlin Committee Member List — September 1, 2013 – August 31, 2014

NameDepartmentExt.Dates Email
Antonella Casola, MDPediatric Infectious Diseases705812012-Present ancasola@utmb.edu
David Beasley, PhDMicrobiology & Immunology211202013-Present dwbeasle@utmb.edu
Nigel Bourne, PhDPediatrics / Microbiology & Immunology781442013-Present nibourne@utmb.edu
Jere McBride, PhDDirector, Experimental Pathology Graduate Program72498ex officio jemcbrid@utmb.edu
Andrew McNees, PhDAssistant Director, Institute for Human Infections and Immunity66500ex officio amcnees@utmb.edu
Peter C Melby, MD, Committee ChairInternal Medicine/Infectious Diseases719102010-Present pcmelby@utmb.edu
Frederick A Murphy, DVM, PhDPathology724302005-Present famurphy@utmb.edu
David W. Niesel, PhDChair, Microbiology & Immunology
Vice Dean, GSBS
22324ex officio dniesel@utmb.edu
Slobodan Paessler, DVM, PhDPathology669132012-Present slpaessl@utmb.edu
Tian Wang, PhDMicrobiology & Immunology231462012-Present ti1wang@utmb.edu
Scott Weaver, PhDDirector, Institute for Human Infections and Immunity66500ex officio sweaver@utmb.edu

The McLaughlin Committee is comprised of at least seven faculty members of the School of Medicine at UTMB that hold the rank of Assistant Professor or higher. In addition, there are ex officio committee members representing the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the Institute for Human Infections & Immunity (IHII). The Director of the IHII appoints members of the Committee and the Chairperson. The terms of committee members are generally two years, except the Chairperson who serves at the call of the Director of the Institute for Human Infections and Immunity. Outoing Chairs remain on the Committee as full voting members for an additional year after their term ends to help with Chair succession.

The McLaughlin Committee has responsibility for managing the predoctoral and postdoctoral fellowship programs supported by the endowment, and serves in an advisory capacity to the Director of the Institute for Human Infections & Immunity and the President of the University of Texas Medical Branch.


This site is maintained by Jennifer Junemann for Institute for Human Infections and Immunity.
Please send an email if you have any questions or comments about this website.
Copyright ©  2004-05  The University of Texas Medical Branch. Please review our privacy policy and Internet guidelines.