2009 Annual IHII/McLaughlin Colloquium

Tentative Agenda

Levin Hall Foyer and Levin Hall South Auditorium | February 26, 2009

11:00 am – 1:00 Poster Set-up
1:00 – 3:00 pm Poster Presentations
3:05– 3:25 pm Poster Removal
3:30– 4:30 pm Richard E Lloyd, PhD, a former McLaughlin Fellow, and a member of the Department of Molecular Virology & Microbiology at Baylor College of Medicine
Viral Regulation of mRNA Stress Granules
4:30– 5:30 pm Short presentations by UTMB Infection & Immunity Fellows

Michelle Nelson, Graduate SCVD Fellow
Effector function and efficacy of CD8+ T cells activated in the absence of IFN-gamma

Konstantin Tsetsarkin, Graduate McLaughlin Fellow
Adaptation of CHIKV to Ae. albopictus mosquitoes: role of the mutations in E2 protein

Diego Vargas-Inchaustegui, Graduate McLaughlin Fellow
Distinct roles for MyD88 and TLR2 during Leishmania braziliensis infection in mice

Alexander Freiberg, PhD, Postdoctoral Keck Fellow
Single-particle cryo-electron microscopy of Rift Valley fever virus

5:30 – 5:45 pm Awards:

2009 McLaughlin Travel Awards

*To present a poster and be eligible for a travel award, trainees must submit abstracts by January 23, 2009.
Please click to download the Abstract form and instructions.