2010 Annual IHII/McLaughlin Colloquium


Levin Hall Dining Room and Levin Hall South Auditorium | April 30, 2010

4:00 pm – 5:00 pm April 29, 2010 — CANCELLED
Special Keynote Speaker — Jane Cardosa, PhD
, Founding director of the Institute of Health and Community Medicine of the Universiti Malaysia Sarawak in Kota Samarahan, Sarawak, Malaysia
Emergence of Human Enterovirus 71 in the Asia Pacific
9:30 am – 11:00 am Poster Set-up
11:00am – 1:00 pm Poster Judging
1:00pm – 2:00 pm Keynote Speaker — Timothy L. Denning, PhD, a former McLaughlin Fellow, and a member of the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine
Gut Instincts: How Intestinal Antigen Presenting Cells Regulate T Cell Responses
2:15 pm – 3:00 pm Short presentations by UTMB Infection & Immunity Fellows

Jameel Johnson, Clinical Fellow
TLR-3 Mediated Regulation of B7 Negative Co-stimulators on Stromal Cells: Implication in Viral Infection in the Colonic Mucosa

Erika Caro Gomez, Graduate Fellow
Humanized Mice for the Study of Rickettsial Pathophysiology and Immune Response

Michelle Nelson, Graduate Student and McLaughlin Fellow
Investigation of TLR Ligan-generated Inflammatory Signals for the Induction of High Magnitude Memory CD8+ T Lymphocyte Responses

Carolina Sierra, Graduate Student
Unraveling the Mechanism of Action of a New Type III Secretion System Effector AexU from Aeromonas Hydrophila

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm Scoring / Mingling
4:30 pm – 5:30 pm Awards:
2010 McLaughlin Travel Awards

*To present a poster and be eligible for a travel award, trainees must submit abstracts by March 30, 2010.
Please click to download the Abstract form and instructions.