Congratulations to the 2015 MD-PhD Program Graduates!

  • Vlad Codrea (UTMB/UT-Austin Program) - Matched to Preliminary Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, Louisville, KY, and Dermatology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
  • Christien Kluwe (UTMB/UT-Austin Program)- Matched to Preliminary Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX, and Radiation Oncology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
  • Alyssa Shell- Matched to Family Medicine at Mountain Area Health Education Center, Asheville, NC
  • Clement Sun (UTMB/UT-Austin Program) - Matched to Internal Medicine at the University of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI

    Welcome to our incoming 2015 MD-PhD class!

  • Anthony Bilotta - Vanderbilt University
  • Victoria Dobbie - Rice University
  • Anna Nia - University of California-Los Angeles


  • Congratulations to Latham Fink who was a winner of a 2015 Dr. and Mrs. Seymour Fisher Academic Excellence Award in Neuroscience!


Welcome - From the Director

Lawrence C. Sowers, Ph.D.Thank you for your interest in the MD-PhD Combined Degree Program at UTMB.

This is a special time in the history of medicine and biomedical research. The explosion of knowledge in the biomedical sciences has created a gap between the understanding of the cellular and molecular basis of disease and the ability to apply that knowledge in a practical way to benefit patients. The central challenge of the next generation of physician-scientists will be to bridge this gap. There is no one better trained and equipped for this task than the graduates of an MD-PhD Combined Degree Program such as the one at UTMB.

The UTMB Program is specifically designed to provide you with the scientific training and clinical experiences necessary for success in your future professional endeavors. The collaborative research atmosphere and emphasis on excellence in patient care at UTMB provides a rich environment for the development of outstanding physician-scientists. The carefully designed and highly integrated curriculum of our seven-year MD-PhD Program will prepare you for a fulfilling and exciting career of exploration, scientific discovery, and compassionate involvement in the lives of your patients.

I hope you will enjoy getting to know our program better by exploring the following pages.


Lawrence C. Sowers, Ph.D.

Lawrence C. Sowers, Ph.D.

Director, MD/PhD Combined Degree Program
John Sealy Distinguished Chair for MD/PhD Combined Degree Studies in Honor of Dr. Truman G. Blocker
Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine