« Back

MD-PhD - News and Resources

Congratulations to the below MD/PhD students who received 2013 Graduate School Scholarship Awards!

  • Muayad Almahariq - Ann and John Hamilton Endowed Scholarship
  • Alyssa Baker - Margaret Saunders Travel Award and the James E. Beall II Memorial Scholarship
  • Eric Carlsen - Arthur V. Simmang Academic Scholarship and the John Stanton Scholarship
  • Latham Fink - Dennis Bowman Memorial Scholarship and the Michael Tacheeni Scott Endowed Scholarship
  • Eric Fitts - Stephen C. Silverthorne Memorial Scholarship
  • Aaron Gray - James A. Hokanson, Ph.D. Endowed Scholarship
  • Talha Ijaz - Bohdan Nechay Tuition Scholarship
  • Rimma Osipov - Shirley and Albert E. Sanders, M.D. Presidential Scholarship
  • Rachel Pearson - Robert Harrison, M.D. Memorial M.D./Ph.D. Scholarship and the Dr. David C. Eiland, Jr. Scholarship Award in Health Care and Humanities
  • Ben Satterfield - Betty Williams, Ph.D. Tuition Scholarship


Eric Carlsen publishes first paper

  • MD/PhD student, Eric Carlsen, recently published a first author paper entitled "Leishmania amazonensis amastigotes trigger neutrophil activation, but resist neutrophil microbicidal mechanisms" in Infection and Immunity. Eric's mentor is Dr. Lynn Soong, professor in the Departments of Microbiology & Immunology and Pathology.



  • Congratulations to UTMB/UT-Austin student Chris Kluwe who successfully completed his dissertation this term in Austin under the guidance of Drs. Andy Ellington and George Georgiou. His dissertation was entitled, "Advancing High-Throughput Antibody Discovery and Engineering." He is currently pursuing clerkship training in Galveston where he looks to maintain active research interests in immunology and oncology.


Additional links and reference information may be found under the News & Resources tab.