Cell Biology Society


The UTMB Society for Cell Biology includes all current Cell Biology graduate students and serves as a network of support and camaraderie throughout the program.

New Student Welcome Celebration September 4, 2014


L-R: Alak Dutta, Malaney O'Connell, Eric Wright, Anesh Prasai, Sam Umbaugh, Dr. Rakez Kayed, Dr. Javier Navarro, Michael Wetzel, Dr. Pomila Singh, Dr. Shao-Jun Tang, Dr. Jin Mo Chung, Carl Grim, Yuxin Wang and Dr. Jiyang Cai


L-R: Malaney O'Connell, Eric Wright, Sam Umbaugh, Anesh Prasai, Dr. Javier Navarro, Dr. Shao-Jun Tang, Dr. Jin Mo Chung, Carl Grim, Yuxin Wang and Dr. Jiyang Cai


L-R: Dr. Jin Mo Chung, Carl Grim, Yuxin Wang, Eric Wright, Dr. Pomila Singh, Sam Umbaugh, Anesh Prasai, Alak Dutta and Malaney O'Connell


L-R: Dr. Jin Mo Chung, Dr. Shao-Jun Tang, Michael Wetzel, Sam Umbaugh, Yuxin Wang, Dr. Javier Navarro, Eric Wright, Carl Grim, Malaney O'Connell, Dwayne Carter, Dr. Pomila Singh and Anesh Prasai


L-R: Dr. Rakez Kakyed, Malaney O'Connell, Drd. Pomila Singh, Drd. Shao-Jun Tang and Dr. Jin Mo Chung


The SoCB selects and hosts the bi-annual Pomerat lecturer, which have recently included Nobel laureates Andy Fire, Martin Chalfie, and Sydney Brenner. The SoCB also organizes social activities such as new student welcome events and service efforts including fundraising teams for the D'feet Breast Cancer Walk/Run.

Current Officers

President: C. Sam Umbaugh csumbaugh@utmb.edu
Vice-President: Anesh Prasai anprasai@utmb.edu
Secretary: Michael Wetzel miwetzel@utmb.edu
Treasurer: Dwayne Carter de3carte@utmb.edu


Next Meeting: TBD, NCB conference room, noon.


Cell Biology Graduate Program Contacts:

Program Director:
Pomila Singh, Ph.D.

Program Coordinator:
Aurora Galvan
120-E BSB, Route: 0625
Phone: (409) 772-2124