NIH News, Jan. 31, 2007 WASHINGTON -- HHS Secretary Michael O. Leavitt has appointed three new members to the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council. The council, which meets three times a year, is composed of leaders in the biological and medical sciences, education, health care and public affairs. Its members, who are appointed to four-year terms, perform the second level of peer review for research and research training grant applications assigned to the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), one of the National Institutes of Health. The new members are: Clifford W. Houston, Ph.D., associate vice president for educational outreach and Herman Barnett Distinguished Endowed Professor in Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. His research concentrates on the role of bacterial toxins in the development of disease. Dr. Houston earned a B.S. in microbiology and chemistry from Oklahoma State University-Stillwater and a Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City.