Welcome to Office of Educational Development

OED Mission

The Office of Educational Development supports the School of Medicine's educational mission by

  • Designing and providing faculty development to improve teaching and learning
  • Supporting curriculum development aimed at effective teaching and learning
  • Providing expertise to support effective learner assessment
  • Designing and providing curriculum and educational program evaluations to promote continually-improving teaching and learning
  • Conducting and collaborating on educational research grounded in sound theory and current practice
  • Collaborating with faculty colleagues to advance the scholarship of education

OED Staff Directory


Majka B. Woods, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Educational Development


Era Buck, Ph.D.
Senior Medical Educator
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine

Oma Morey, Ph.D.
Senior Medical Educator
Assistant Professor of Department of Internal Medicine, Sealy Center on Aging

Mary-Margaret Davila
Senior Secretary

Anne Rudnicki, Ed.D.
Senior Medical Educator
Assistant Professor of Department of Pediatrics

Ni Zhang, M.S.


Bill Boudreaux, Ed.D, RN
Medical Educator-Clinical Simulation
Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Karen Szauter, M.D.
Medical Director, Standardized Patient Program
Professor of Department of Internal Medicine

Office of Educational Development Organizational Chart

OED History

A Brief History of the Office of Educational Development

UTMB’s Office of Educational Development was founded on February 15, 1971. Initially designated the Office of Research in Medical Education, it was given its current name in 1981 to reflect its broader functions within the School of Medicine.

OED Directors

Harold G. Levine, MPA, Founding Director (1971-1981)
Barbara Johnson, Ph.D.(1981-1983)
Abdul Sajid, Ed.D. (1983-1991)
Linda Perkowski, M.S. (1991-1993)
Andrew Payer, Ph.D., Interim Director (1994-1995)
M. Gwendie Camp, Ph.D., Director (1995-2001)
Robert Beach, M.D., Director (2001-2004)
Ann W. Frye, Ph.D., Director (2005-2014)
Majka Woods, Ph.D., Director (2015 - Present)


The Founding of an Educational Development Office: A Personal Memoir - Harold G. Levine (published in honor of the 30th anniversary of the Office of Educational Development, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; February 15, 2001)

Personal correspondence - Linda Perkowski, Ph.D. (June 16, 2014)