« Back

Excellence in Basic Science or Humanities Selective Essay Award

William Osler in Murray Bay (La Malbaie), Qu├ębec, Summer of 1902
Jeffrey Eaton, 2005 BSH Essay Award Recipient
The John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine is comprised of physicians in the School of Medicine selected for their dedication to the ideals of clinical practice, education, and humanities in medicine as taught by Sir William Osler. The academy established this Award for Excellence in Basic Sciences or Humanities for an essay written by a senior medical student taking a fourth year selective course. Known as Osler Scholars, the faculty members of the academy award the prize to a student whose paper reflects astute observation and either an exceptional grasp of scientific method and analysis or an equally exceptional ability to apply the humanities to the issue discussed, combined with clear articulation of these concepts.
J. David Dominguez

J. David Dominguez – 2015 BSHS Essay Award Recipient – 2015 BSHS Essay

Previous recipients:
Blake R. Sonne 2014
John R. Dryden 2013
Rachel Walker Vandermeer 2012
Nguyen V. Nguyen 2011
Jeffrey Carness 2010
Ammar Yamani 2009
No recipient chosen in 2008 (due to Hurricane Ike)
Jennifer Kargel and Vanessa Dimas 2007
Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.