« Back

Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards

doctors sitting a lecture room

Each year, up to five faculty will be selected for the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award. This award recognizes the fundamental concept, exemplified by Sir William Osler, that the development of outstanding physicians occurs primarily in clinical settings (ambulatory or in-patient). Each recipient of the award will receive $5,000 for support of his or her professional development and/or teaching programs.

The following attributes are used to define excellence in clinical teaching:
  • Demonstrates patient-centered focus of excellent teaching and care;
  • Serves as a role model of care and compassion of learners and patients and exemplifies professional behavior; shows respect for the learner, patient, and other health care providers;
  • Demonstrates enthusiasm and enjoyment;
  • Demonstrates inquisitiveness and values inquiry;
  • Creates an enjoyable, challenging, and "safe" learning environment;
  • Sets high, but obtainable, standards;
  • Assists in the development of clinical skills, including patient history, physical exam, procedures, and clinical reasoning;
  • Integrates basic science with clinical care;
  • Demonstrates patience;
  • Demonstrates flexibility and adaptability; is open-minded;
  • Provides useful and relevant feedback;
  • Demonstrates teamwork and multi-disciplinary care;
  • Is genuine.

Individuals selected will be ineligible for two subsequent years after selection.

The 2015 Awardees are:
2015 ECTA Awardees
2014 Awardees
Dr. Loretta Grumbles
Dr. Michael Malloy
Dr. Hanan Hussein
2013 Awardees
Dr. Harold Pine
Dr. David McCormick
Dr. Sunil Jain
Dr. Carlos Clark
2012 Awardees
Dr. Keith Bly
Dr. Cara Geary
Dr. Vicki Schnadig
Dr. Lindsay Sonstein
Dr. Catalina Triana
2011 Awardees
Dr. Susan Gerik
Dr. Richard Goodgame
Dr. Anita Mercado
Dr. Luis Pacheco
Dr. Victor Sierpina
2010 Awardees
Dr. Juliet McKee
Dr. Patricia Robers
Dr. Judith Rowen
Dr. Rakesh Vadhera
2009 Awardees
Dr. Ronald Lindsey
Dr. Susan McCammon
Dr. William Mileski
Dr. Vincent Valentine
Dr. Tony Wen

The recipients are honored during the annual Osler Oration in July.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.