« Back

The John P. McGovern Lifetime
Achievement Award in Oslerian Medicine

John P. McGovern
John P. McGovern
In 2001, UTMB's Office of the President established the John P. McGovern Award in Oslerian Medicine, a lifetime achievement award that recognizes the practice and teaching of humane medicine in the tradition of Sir William Osler and affirms the university's commitment to Oslerian ideals. Born in 1849 in Canada, Osler served on the medical faculties of McGill, the University of Pennsylvania and Johns Hopkins, reaching the peak of his career as Regius professor of medicine at Oxford. Osler pioneered the practice of teaching at the bedside and initiated the modern residency program. His The Principles and Practice of Medicine was the standard text for half a century of medical students. Above all, Osler demonstrated, in both patient care and teaching, deep compassion, understanding and love for his fellow human beings.

Candidates for the award must both practice and teach medicine and be affiliated with UTMB School of Medicine either as faculty members or as former students or residents. The selection will be made by the McGovern Academy's current Osler Scholars who will assess nominees for their longstanding and distinguished careers of service in four categories:
  • Combining scientific principles with humane practice in his/her clinical care and being committed to relief of patients' suffering;
  • Displaying imaginative, innovative and inspirational teaching;
  • Displaying exemplary personal attributes: honesty, modesty, generosity, affection, a respect for the past, spirituality and passion for aesthetic and creative pursuits; and
  • Displaying social consciousness and community involvement.
The 2016 recipient is:
David H. Walker

Previous recipients
Hover & click on the photo to view a larger version

Dr. David H. Walker
Dr. Lillian Lockhart
Dr. Leonard E. Swischuk
Dr. Michael Warren
Dr. Courtney Townsend, Jr.
Dr. William Deiss
Dr. Frank Gardner
Dr. Jack Wallace
Dr. Alice Anne O'Donell
Dr. Armond Goldman
Dr. Luther Travis
Dr. John Stobo
Dr. Melvyn Schreiber
Dr. Al LeBlanc
Dr. John Calverley
Dr. E. Burke Evans
Dr. Don Powell
Dr. R. August Remmers
Hover & click on the photo to view a larger version

The recipients are honored during the annual Osler Oration.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.