« Back

Practice of Medicine 3 Essay Award
in Oslerian Medicine

a buaquet of flowers next to a frame photo of Osler on a table

Third Year medical students may voluntarily enroll in the Practice of Medicine-3 Course.  Students meet monthly in small groups with faculty facilitators to discuss issues relevant to humanism and health care systems.  Each month they submit an essay about an aspect of the assigned topic.  Facilitators are invited to nominate their most insightful students for the POM-s Essay Award.  Selection is based upon review of 3 essays from nominees, with a maximum of 2 student recipients per year.  The Award is supported jointly by the McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine and the Dr. C. W. Daeschner, Jr. '45 endowment.

This year's recipients: Anand Padmanabha and Roxanne Radi.

Anand Padmanabha and Roxanne Radi picture Anand Padmanabha and Roxanne Radi picture

Anand Padmanabha
Essays: Joy In Medicine, Team Work, Third Year Reflection
Roxanne Radi
Essays: Burnout, Error, Joy of Medicine

Previous recipients:
Hung Doan2012 Professional Essay
Bonnie Reed2012 Professional Essay
Stephanie Meyer2011 Professionalism Essay
Christopher Romero2011 Professionalism Essay

The recipients are honored during the annual Osler Oration.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.