« Back

The John D. and Mary Ann Stobo Award

The 2015 recipients, Alaina A. Brinley
Alaina A. Brinley, 2015 Stobo Award recipient
Each year, the McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine selects a student to receive an award established personally by Jack and Mary Ann Stobo. Although its monetary value is generous, the prestige attached is even more significant, because it was endowed by a UTMB president.

Most of the awards the Osler Scholars give out are designated for the School of Medicine. The Stobo Award, however, can go to a student from any school, and it typically rotates among them. Due to the nature and mission of the McGovern Academy, the award recognizes embodiment of the ideals of humane, compassionate, scientifically sound, patient-centered care. The student selected needn't be the top in his or her class but does need to be meeting academic expectations.

The 2015 Recipient is: Alaina A. Brinley.

Previous recipients:
Jacqueline Stout-Aguilar 2014
Nicole M. Piemonte 2013
Michael Besecker 2012
Karen Welch 2011
Mona Kidwell 2010
Julie Kutac 2009
Lauren Reynolds 2008
Jeffrey Cone 2007
Brandon "Kit" Bredimus 2006
David Kozishek 2005
Aaron Dudley 2004

The recipients are honored during the annual Osler Oration.

Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.