« Back

Cytopathology Fellowship
Accepting application for 2016-2017

This one-year program, accredited by ACGME for one position, offers advanced cytopathology training in diagnostic cytology including gynecologic and nongynecologic cytology. Gynecologic cytology includes conventional smears and liquidbased, thin-layer slide preparations performed on 52,000/year cervical-vaginal specimens. Non-gynecologic cytology consists of over 5,000 specimens per year and includes fluids (body cavity and cerebrospinal), urines, and bronchial-pulmonary specimens. Fine needle aspirations consist of 1,600/year, including superficial sites as well as image-guided and endoscopic ultrasonographically-guided FNA’s of deep-seated mass lesions. Emphasis is put on routine screening of cases, performance and interpretation of FNA’s along with clinical, radiological, and surgical pathology correlation. Also emphasized are routine cytopreparatory methods and use of ancillary techniques such as microbiologic cultures, reflex HPV-testing, immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, molecular pathology, and electron microscopy. Research opportunities are widely available. The fellow will have increasing levels of supervised responsibility in clinical and teaching duties, and is expected to participate in scholarly activities, quality management and administrative activities, didactic and tumor board conferences, and in the formal teaching of residents, medical students, and cytotechnology students. Expertise in cytology of the GI tract, infectious diseases, and cervical-vaginal.

Faculty: Vicki J. Schnadig, M.D., Director, and Ranjana Nawgiri, M.D.

Board certification or eligibility in AP or AP/CP.

Commensurate with candidate’s level of training.

Vicki Schnadig, MD, Director of Cytopathology, Department of Pathology, University of Texas Medical Branch, 301 University Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77555-0428.

(409) 772-2870
Fax: (409) 747-2400

Cytopathology Fellowship Application (PDF)

Vicki J. Schnadig, M.D.

Vicki Jeanne Schnadig, M.D.

Professor, Department of Pathology;
Director, Division of Cytopathology;
Director, Cytopathology Fellowship Program

University of Texas Medical Branch
9.300 John Sealy Annex
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, TX 77555-0548

Office: (409) 772-6655
Fax: (409) 772-8437