« Back

About the Professionalism Committee

The current Professionalism Committee is the result of these two earlier initiatives:

  • 2002 Professionalism Charter Subcommittee formed-group created to fulfill project goals of Putting the Charter Into Practice project. Comprised of administrative, clinical, faculty and student participation, the subcommittee aims to apply the ABIM's physician charter to not just its medical students, but to everyone at UTMB.
  • 1992 American Board of Internal Medicine's (ABIM) Project Professionalism subcommittee convenes-chaired by Dr. Stobo, subcommittee aims to enhance evaluation of professionalism as a component of clinical competence and to promote the integrity of internal medicine. Established in 1990, project creates working definition of professionalism and educational resources, published in June 1994.

 Committee members with guest, Matthew Edwards, Honor Pledge Committee

Members of the 2013-2014 Professionalism Committee include:

  • Tammy Babcock, Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education
  • Barbara A. Bonificio, MS, RN-BC, Director of Nursing Excellence, Nursing Administration
  • Claire Drom, MSI
  • Ruth Leah Finkelstein, Project Manager, Strategic Initiatives, Office of the President-Operations
  • Dr. Kristene K. Gugliuzza, Professor, Departments of Surgery and Pediatrics, School of Medicine, Active Scholar, John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine
  • Dr. Mark Holden, Co-chair, Edna S. and William C. Levin Professor in Internal Medicine; Director, Division of General Internal Medicine; Vice Chair for Undergraduate and Continuing Medical Education, Department of Internal Medicine; Emeritus Scholar, John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine
  • Julie E. Kutac, Doctoral Student, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • Kristi Laird, Student Representative, School of Nursing
  • Sheryl Lashway, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the President - Administrative Support
  • Dr. Rex McCallum, Vice President and Chief Physician Executive
  • Dr. Ronald McKinley, Vice President, Human Resources and Employee Services
  • Dr. James E. Martin, Interim Associate Vice President for Student Services
  • Dr. Meredith C. Masel, Program Manager, The Oliver Center for Patient Safety & Quality Healthcare
  • Amanda Murphy, Student Representative, School of Health Professions
  • Kimloan T. Nguyen, Student Representative, Scool of Health Professions
  • Dorothy Pearrow, Director of Student Affairs and Admissions, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Rebecca Saavedra, Co-chair, Vice President for Strategic Management, Office of the President - Operations
  • Joanne Salt, Communications Specialist, Public Affairs Liaison
  • Dr. Karen Szauter, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and PM&CH, School of Medicine
  • Raven Thacker (Student Representative, School of Nursing)

Professionalism Groups:

  • Professionalism Committee Members
    In 2002, UTMB was one of five medical schools selected to participate in a medical professionalism pilot project sponsored by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Foundation's. The goal of the project, entitled Putting the Charter Into Practice, is for participating institutions to apply the principles and responsibilities of the Physician Charter that was published by the ABIM in 2002 to its medical school student body.
  • Honor Education Council
    The Honor Education Council (HEC) is a School of Medicine student-run organization formed in 1990. Its mission is to educate medical students and faculty on issues pertaining to the ethical behavior of physicians and to help students develop an ethical decision-making process within a spirit of honor.
  • Honor Pledge Committee
    The Honor Pledge Committee was coordinated in 2002 and included students, Associate Deans and the Associate Vice President for Student Services.