Skip to main content

Antidepressant Classes

It is best when learning about the antidepressant to think of them by their "classes". These including the following:

- Tricyclic Antidepressants (TCAs) (all reuptake inhibitors)

- Monoamine Oxidase Inhibitors (MAOIs)

- Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs)

- Serotonin/Norepinephrine Reuptake Inhibitors (SNRIs)

- Norepinephrine/Dopamine Reuptake Inhibitors (NDRIs)

- Serotonin-2 Antagonist/Reuptake Inhibitors (SARIs)

- Noradrenergic and Specific Serotonergic Antidepressant (NaSSA)

The TCA's and MAOIs have become "second line", so for the purposes of this learning module, we will focus on the so called "newer" antidepressants. "New" is a relative term, since the first "new generation" antidepressant, fluoxetine (Prozac), was released in 1987.