Welcome to the Academy of Master Teachers Website

About Us

The UTMB Academy of Master Teachers, established in 2007, is an honorary service organization to recognize Master Teachers and to provide an array of faculty development opportunities for all UTMB Faculty, including an annual Faculty Development Day, annual Education Symposium, education grand rounds, journal club, innovation grants, mentoring and consultations. Membership is by application and selection against a set of standards. Members serve five-year terms and may be honored with the designation as University of Texas Distinguished Teaching Professors.

Mission Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers is an interprofessional community serving UTMB through the promotion of educational excellence.

Vision Statement

The Academy of Master Teachers will propel UTMB to a national and global reputation for excellence in Biomedical and Health Professions education.


The Academy of Master Teachers is pleased to announce the results of the member election for Director-Elect.

Congratulations to Dr. Bernard Karnath!

Dr. Karnath’s term as Director-Elect will begin September 1, 2016 in anticipation of assuming the AMT Director position for a three year term beginning September, 2017. We look forward to working with Dr. Karnath over the coming year as he joins our AMT Executive Team.

Educator of the Month - October 2016

Susan McCammon, MD
Co-Director Center for Cancers of the Head and Neck, Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology

Dr. McCammon made a lasting impression on her students. Her knowledgeable, interactive and respectful interaction with students and colleagues is admired and appreciated by all. She is perceived by her students as an excellent educator and a role model whom they strive to emulate.