« Back

Internal Medicine Residency Program
About Us

UTMB internal medicine residents

Program Director
Richard Goodgame, M.D.
Senior Associate Program Director
Michael Boyars, M.D.
Associate Program Directors
Lindsay Sonstein, M.D. and Carlos Clark, D.O.
Chief Residents
Chief Residents
Chief residents are select graduates of the Internal Medicine Residency at UTMB who choose to remain an extra year to provide support to our residents in a variety of ways. Our primary goals are to teach, guide, and assist in training housestaff during their residency. We act as a liaison between residents and other faculty or departments, and strive to maintain open lines of communication between faculty, administrative staff, nursing staff, care managers, as well as, other UTMB services. We provide advice to our residents about patient care, personal issues, choice of electives, and fellowship applications. Whether a resident's interest lies with general internal medicine or a subspecialty, you will have the full support and guidance of the Internal Medicine Department and Chief Residents. Our office door is always open for questions or visits, and we can be contacted via e-mail at im.chiefs@utmb.edu.
The Chief Residents
Michael Babineaux, M.D.
Jason Bell, D.O.
Cindy Lyou, M.D.

Our residency program takes great pride in our diverse resident population. We acquire the best residents from all over the globe, and offer excellent care to the community that we serve. At UTMB we are committed to train high-quality, successful physicians. Our residents maintain a balance between work and social activities. We promote camaraderie in our program, with frequent social activities.

IM Residents
Michele Bolton and Barbara Garcia
Michele Bolton and Barbara Garcia

Michele Bolton, Barbara Garcia and Mecca Snider make up our wonderful Internal Medicine Residency Office Staff.

If you have any further questions about the application process, please contact Barbara Garcia.

Resident Photos
Site Managed by UTMB Information Design Services.