AMT Faculty Member

Schatte, Dawnelle

Dawnelle Schatte, MDProfessor, Psychiatry and Behavior Science
School of Medicine

Dr. Dawnelle Schatte, Associate Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, is the Director of Undergraduate Education for psychiatry since 2015. She is responsible for coordination of the psychiatry clerkship, oversight of the summer preceptorship experiences, the Recognizing and Treatment Addiction Minimester, the Psychiatry Bootcamp elective, and development of new electives in psychiatry. Her passion is for helping learners respect the suffering of the mentally ill so that future physicians will care to learn to screen, understand barriers to care, and get help for these patients.

Her preparation for being an educator includes the Health Educator Fellowship Program at UT-Houston, the Scholars in Education faculty development program at UTMB, Research Essential Skills in Medical Education program with Association for Medical Education in Europe, the American Directors of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry (ADMSEP) Faculty Scholar’s Program, and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) certificate program. Her reputation as an educator has been recognized with Baylor College of Medicine’s Laughlin Foundation Merit Award and the Mental Health Association of Houston Community Educator Award for community outreach and education, Ginsberg Fellowship Recipient for clinical teaching as a resident, the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) Outstanding Mentorship Award, the John H. Freeman Award for basic science teaching decided by the graduating class of UT-Houston in 2014, Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award from the Osler society at UTMB in 2019, Minnie Piper Stevens Master Teacher Award, and the Regent’s Outstanding Teaching Award from the UT System Board of Regents in 2019.

Beyond the UT System, Dr. Schatte is active in the Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatrists (TSCAP), having served as president in 2014-2015, and ADMSEP, having served as co-chair for the Workgroup on Learning Objectives for ADMSEP and is on the executive council.