Facelift at UTMB Health

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion at UTMB Health

Resources For


UTMB will be the gold standard in evidence-based, strategic diversity management in health care and health education


Office of Diversity and Inclusion
To infuse inclusion and excellence into the core aspects of the institution's mission work through thought leadership, consulting and service delivery.

Diversity Council
To work together to harness the broad spectrum of ideas, experiences and voices that characterize the UTMB community.


  • Inclusion – We promote active, intentional and ongoing engagement with diversity—in people, curriculum, research and the communities we serve.
  • Excellence – Whatever we do, we will do it to the best of our ability and set the standards.
  • Learning – We embrace creativity, personal growth and new knowledge.
  • Collaboration – We will work together to realize shared goals and objectives.


Click the page arrows (< 1of 3 >) to see previous years. If on a mobile device, click the full-screen mode arrow ↗.

Diversity Council

The Diversity Council represents the cornerstone of the diversity and inclusion process. The council is a chartered committee responsible for leading and supporting programs and practices that reinforce the goals outlined in the Diversity and Inclusion strategic plan. Its mission is to work together to harness the broad spectrum of ideas, experiences and voices that characterize the UTMB community.

Diversity Home Page

  • The Diversity Council is an institutional think-tank that provides oversight and implementation accountability for the various aspects of UTMB's diversity and inclusion strategic plan. Council members are representational thought leaders who drive the institution’s efforts based on a clear charter and operating with the full and visible support of senior executive leadership.

    The council is organized into four subcommittees that mirror UTMB's operational structure. Each subcommittee is led by two co-chairs and council members who serve a one- to three-year term.

    Co-chairs work to lead the assigned scope of work within the current fiscal year term. Each co-chair may be appointed for a one- or two-year term and may be re-appointed for up to three yearly terms. Terms begin, once appointed, at the beginning of each fiscal year. Throughout the term, the chairs will work with the subcommittee to provide a progress report to the council and executive leadership liaison, indicating the outcomes of the council term, as well as make recommendations for future programs and initiatives for consideration.

  • UTMB has a time-honored history of leading and supporting initiatives and practices that not only highlight our commitment to diversity but the necessity of diversity and inclusion to the university's character and success.

    A fully committed and active Diversity Council enables us to continue to promote a culture in which diversity and inclusion is woven into all we do: in our teaching, in our research and in the type of individuals we select as our students, staff and faculty. This commitment is rooted in the understanding that UTMB charts the best course for the future by harnessing a diversity of views, ideas and perspectives.

    Charles P. Mouton, MD, MS, MBA
    President ad interim, Provost and Dean, John Sealy School of Medicine

    Timothy J. Harlin, DSc, MBA, FACHE
    Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, UTMB Health System

    Becky Korenek, MHA, MBA
    Executive Vice President, Business Development and Chief Strategy Officer

    Vivian Diaz Kardow, MBA, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
    Vice President, Human Resources and Chief Human Resources Officer

  • Dr. Charles P. Mouton
    President ad interim, Provost and Dean, John Sealy School of Medicine

    Dr. Alfredo Torres
    Microbiology And Immunology, Academic Enterprise

    Kenith Adcox
    UTMB Police

    Aishat Adebayo

    Dorine Ajong
    VL Med/Surg Nursing Unit

    Amber Armstead
    Occupational Therapy

    Zinkeng Asonganyi
    VL Pharmacy

    Bisma Baloch
    School of Medicine, Student

    Jennifer Barnett
    School of Nursing
    Asst Professor -  NTT Nursing

    Suresh Bhavnani
    Prev Med & Pop Health
    Biostatistics & Data Science

    Sandra Bloodworth
    VL Surgery – PREOP & PACU

    Jill Bryant-Bova
    Quality Management

    Cecelia Carstens

    Creshonda Collins
    Family Medicine

    Tammie Collins
    Internal Investigations

    Monica Clark
    Decision Support Analysis
    Nursing Admin - Perioperative

    Tilly Clark
    Office of the President

    Cleavon Covington
    Pediatric Immunology-Allergy

    Megan Dial
    School of Health Professions, Student

    Tsola Efejuku
    School of Medicine, Student

    Janet Enderle
    Clinical Laboratory Sciences
    School of Health Professions

    Kathleen Everling
    Educational Development
    School of Medicine

    Ximena Flandes
    Grad School Biomedical Science, Student

    Geraldine Giannotti
    EHS – Institutional Compliance
    EHS - General Safety & Fire Prev

    Catherine Goodridge
    Surgical Pathology Division

    Karen Gross
    Supply Chain

    Lizette Gutierrez
    School of Medicine, Student

    Saba Hansen
    Victory Lakes – Nuclear Medicine

    Manuel Higganbotham
    Patient Services

    Grayson Jackson
    School of Medicine, Student

    Dayoung Jeon
    School of Medicine, Student

    Eva Kizer
    IS-Business Intelligence

    Farah Kudrath
    Psych/Behavioral Sciences HS

    Kim Le
    IS-Clin EHR Support

    Tonette Lewis
    UTMB Cancer Center – Dickinson
    School of Nursing

    Lolita Lowery
    CHDP Int Med Specialties Clinic

    Mayra Perez Magana
    International Affairs Office

    Annette Martinez
    Psychiatry/Behavioral Science
    Revenue Cycle Coding

    Soshe Mayes
    Stringfellow Unit (R2)

    Jayco McCowan
    Inst Ofc Reg Nonclinical Studies

    Ricshonda Milburn
    OB/GYN URO Gynecology

    Victor Moreno
    Provost Administration

    Brian Moses
    Environmental Services

    Kirk Nealy
    Provost Administration

    Meagan Nkansah
    Grad School Biomedical Science, Student
    School of Public and Population Health

    Olubenga Ojo
    Internal Medicine

    Savannah Parks
    Patient Resource Center
    Nursing Program Development

    Premal Patel
    Internal Medicine – General Medicine

    Crystalyn Richard
    Physical Therapy
    School of Health Professions

    Jose Rojas
    Respiratory Care
    School of Health Professions

    Rafael Samper Ternent
    Internal Medicine – Geriatrics

    Nobie Scott
    Telford Unit

    Hani Serag
    Center Eliminate Health Disparities
    Internal Med-Endocrinology

    Alexander Stephens
    Community Representative

    Kelly Stewart
    Lychner Unit

    Haris Vakil
    Family Medicine – Residency Train

    Kimberly Vaughn
    UTMB Police

    Nicholas Viator
    Business Development

    Sarah Villarreal
    Ob-Gyn Gynecology

    Richard Walker
    Quality Management

    Cindy West
    School of Nursing, DNP Program

    Mellodee White
    Pedi Vaccinology Research

    Alexandria Wilson
    School of Health Professions, Student

Diversity in Action