Summary of Embargoed and Sanctioned Countries Chart As Of 5/2013

Comprehensively Embargoed Countries
Iran, Cuba, Syria Iran, Cuba, Syria

Targeted Sanctioned Countries for Export of Selected Category of Items
Libya, Lebanon, Somalia, Belarus, Sudan, North Korea, Iraq, Yemen, Myanmar (formerly Burma), Liberia, Zimbabwe, Balkans, the Cote D'Ivoire (formerly Ivory Coast) North Korea, Iraq, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Somalia, Sudan

Countries with Restricted Entities on the EAR Entity Chart
Afghanistan, Armenia, Belarus, Belize, Canada, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Norway, Pakistan, Russia, Lebanon, Singapore, South Africa, Syria, Sweden, Taiwan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom

ITAR Prohibited Countries- Export of Defense Items/Services
Afghanistan, Belarus, China, Cuba, Cote d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Fiji, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, North Korea, Myanmar, Rwanda, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Republic of the Sudan (Northern Sudan), Syria, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, and Zimbabwe

Openness in Research Policy


Regulatory Information Links


If you have questions or concerns about the applicability of export control regulations to a particular situation, or about any of the information presented on this page, contact:

Frances Streeter, JD
Legal Officer & Export
Control Officer