UTMB Faculty Senate
May 8, 2017

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:35 pm by Dr. Suzanne Alton, Faculty Senate Chair

II. The minutes from April 10, 2017 were voted on and approved by email on April 26, 2017.

III. Announcements

Dr. Alton announced that Dr. Geary and Dr. Cain met with Dr. Bhardwaj and Dr. Jacobs regarding faculty burnout recently. Dr. Jacobs will write his ideas and will get back to us. Dr. Carayannopoulos stated that UTSYSFAC is organizing a symposium in September on burnout that will be held at MD Anderson in September. He stated that this is a first of its kind and will address both faculty and physician burnout. Dr. Carayannopoulos added that Mr. Tony Cucolo, Associate Vice Chancellor for leadership development and Veterans’ affairs, has been and will be visiting all of the UT campuses along with the Chair or Chair Elect of FAC. He will be speaking to a variety of people about shared governance. He has yet to visit the Galveston campus in this regard.

IV. Clinical Committee Resolution

The committee distributed a draft resolution. After discussion, it was revised, voted on and approved unanimously. It will be sent to Executive Leadership with a request to review the current practice plans for SON and SHP. The committee made the revisions and the resolution was sent electronically for vote to the Senators, the revised resolution passed with 17 votes for and 0 votes against.

V. Senate Survey – George Carayannopoulos, MD, Chair-Elect

Dr. Carayannopoulos discussed the survey results and gave an overview of the outcome.

Top 3 positives: Colleagues; Flexibility/variety of work opportunities: clinical, teaching, research; and Benefits

Top 3 negatives: Lack of support/appreciation; Workload; Administration/leadership

Overall satisfaction: 5.5 of 7 score with 75% have some degree of satisfaction and only 12.5% somewhat dissatisfied.

Dr. Carayannopoulos stated that he asked Mr. Paul Bristol for the top 40 clinical producers and sent the survey to them. This was done because of the perception of leadership that productive faculty are satisfied and happy, and only those who are less successful or less resilient are having problems There was a discussion of who else the satisfaction survey should be sent to.

VI. Chair-Elect (SHP) Introductions – Dr. Lynne Hughes and Dr. José Rojas

Dr. Hughes statement and CV and Dr. Rojas’ statement and CV.

The committees met and Chairs of Committees will be sending in a summary to Dr. Alton.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:00 pm.