UTMB Faculty Senate

November 13, 2017


The meeting was called to order at 4:30 pm by Dr. George Carayannopoulos, Faculty Senate Chair.

The minutes from October 9, 2017 were voted on and approved by email by October 25, 2017.

Presentation – Dr. George Carayannopoulos

Dr. Carayannopoulos distributed three handouts. The first one was titled UTMB Satisfaction Survey 2017, Solutions/Changes Worksheet, September 19, 2017.  The other two handouts Dr. Carayannopoulos stated that they came from President Callender and were titled:  FY2018 Priorities and FY18 Institutional Priorities (as of 9/5/17).  Dr. Carayannopoulos stated that he, Dr. Hughes and Dr. Alton have met with Dr. Callender and Dr. Jacobs.  Dr. Callender has started to have small group sessions with the top 40 clinical producing faculty to hear directly from them and asking for feedback and suggestions.  Dr. Jacobs is interested and intends to hold monthly meetings with Faculty Senate leadership to improve the faculty experience.
Dr. Carayannopoulos stated that the Research Committee will need to find a replacement for Dr. Spratt, a former Senator to serve on the Research Strategic Committee.  Ronald Tilton was selected to serve on this committee.  He also stated that Dr. Niesel talked about a Research Extravaganza and also a Junior Faculty Association, more details to come.

Dr. Carayannopoulos stated he was asked about the location for the Faculty Senate meetings, are there any other locations that would be a better location, centrally located on campus?

Dr. Hughes stated that the SHP submitted the satisfaction survey to their faculty.  Dr. Alton will be sending out the same survey to the SON faculty.

Dr. Hughes announced that the You Count survey will be out in spring and asked if the Senate would like to add any questions to this survey. 

Dr. Alton announced that the new SON Dean will start December 1, 2017.


Clinical Committee announced that Matthew Mrazek will serve as Chair and Jacqueline Aoughsten, Co-Chair

Education Committee announced that José Rojas will serve as Chair and Mohamed Morsy was nominated to serve as Co-Chair,

Research Committee announced that Nikos Vasilakis will serve as Chair and Donald Bouyer and Kelly Dineley, Co-Chairs

University Committee announced that Harold Pine will serve as Chair and Lynne Hughes, Co-Chair

Dr. Pine asked if the Senators could have a “Senator” badge, so people would know who serves on the Senate.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 pm.