UTMB Faculty Senate
July 10, 2017

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:30 pm by Dr. Suzanne Alton, Faculty Senate Chair

II. The minutes from June 12, 2017 were voted on and approved by email on June 26, 2017.

III. Interprofessional Education and Practice – Dr. John McKee, Ms. Shelley Smith and Dr. Pamela Watson

Dr. Watson introduced Ms. Smith and Dr. McKee. Ms. Smith presented the Senate with a PowerPoint presentation along with a handout and her business card. Here are some highlights:

· This plan builds on synergy, our first successful QEP effort at IPE.

· IPEP at UTMB is designed to connect Interprofessional learning experiences throughout the institution to improve health.

· The Council of Deans has approved the first IPE Course which will be required of all students in UTMB degree-granting programs on the topic of communication. An ad-hoc committee has been created to work out the details how the course will be handled in each of the four schools.


1. Establish interprofessional education as a primary element of UTMB for all entering students.

2. Provide opportunities for students to practice interprofessional team-based approached and skills in patient-centered environments and biomedical research arenas.

3. Foster a culture of Interprofessional education and practice.

Five-year Proposal for IPE Scholars:

· Introduction: All entering students will be placed on interprofessional teams.

· Integration: Students will participate in interprofessional high-fidelity, low-risk simulations with team debriefings.

· Immersion: Students will participate in interprofessional practice teams and complete a scholarly team project.

Request for the Senators: Let Shelley Smith know when there are interdisciplinary educational sessions so she can document this as well as assist. Contact information: Shelley Smith, MEd, Director of Interprofessional Education, shelsmit@utmb.edu or 409-772-0213; website: https://www.utmb.edu/ipep.

IV. Announcements

Dr. Alton announced that the voting results were very close and Dr. Lynne Hughes is our new Chair-elect.

Dr. Alton divided the Senators into groups of the school they are from to discuss the faculty retention plans submitted by SON, SHP, and Internal Medicine. The Senators discussed the next course of action for the retention plans for the schools. The results of the discussion with questions/requests will be sent to the respective Deans by Dr. Alton, Dr. Carayannopoulos and Dr. Hughes. Dr. Alton will request to be cc’d on the emails going to the Deans for the record.

Dr. Alton reminded the Senators of the upcoming UT System symposium at UT MD Anderson, on September 25 and 26, Monday & Tuesday, on clinician burnout, “Beyond Resiliency Training.” Here is the link to register and for more information: http://www.cvent.com/events/beyond-resiliency-training-organizational-strategies-to-alleviate-burnout-and-increase-wellness-in-a/event-summary-b0ec33f4741d429fb1643b9655d7e3cd.aspx. The symposium Cost: $200 for Early Bird registration through August 31; $250 starting September 1 and $50 optional CME credit fee.

Dr. Knox announced that the Shine Academy Nominating Committee has made their recommendations already and will not need to meet following this meeting.

Some questions about market adjustments were discussed and will be sent forward to Mr. Bristol by Dr. Alton.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:00 pm