GSBS Dean’s Report – Faculty Senate 5/13/13


  1. GSBS held its 45th commencement ceremony Friday, May 3 at 4pm in the Levin Hall main auditorium.  Vice president and Dean Cary Cooper presided over the convocation. Danny O. Jacobs, MD, UTMB executive vice president and provost and dean of the School of Medicine, conferred the degrees.


The Graduate Student Organization presented its Distinguished Teaching Award to Giulio Taglialatela, PhD, Professor in the Department of Neurosciences and Cell Biology, a director of the UTMB Summer Undergraduate Research Program and associate director of the Neuroscience Graduate Program. Dr. Taglialatela also received the Distinguished Faculty Service Award, presented by the Graduate School.


Ashok K. Chopra, PhD, Professor in the Department of Microbiology & Immunology, senior scientist in the Sealy Center for Vaccine Development, Center for Tropical Diseases, and Center for Biodefense and Emerging Infectious Diseases, and scientific staff member, Shriners Burns Institute, received the Distinguished Faculty Research Award.


Anthony Martin Gerdes, PhD, Professor and Chairman, Department of Biomedical Sciences, New York Institute of Technology – College of Osteopathic Medicine and Professor, Internal Medicine, University of South Dakota-Sioux Falls, was honored with the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2013. Dr. Gerdes also presented Internal Medicine grand rounds at noon on Thursday May 2 during his visit to UTMB.


The commencement Mace Bearer was Dr. Alice Spencer Hill, Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs, Director of the Nursing Doctoral Program and John P. McGovern Chair in the Healing Practices of Nursing.


Including students not attending the commencement, in the 2013 academic year the Graduate School awarded 34 doctoral degrees, 15 master’s degrees and five MD/PhD degrees.



2.        The electronic spring 2013 Quarterly Alumni Newsletter is now available (attached) and has been e-mailed to GSBS alumni and friends.  This newsletter is edited and produced by Ms. Jo Bremer, Director of the GSBS Office of Postdoctoral & Postgraduate Affairs.



3.      The UT System Council of Deans met in Austin on Sat May 4.  This was the 3rd meeting of FY’13.  A copy of the Agenda is attached.



4.      The 2nd yearly presentation of the GSBS sponsored course titled The Ethics of Scientific Research directed by Dr. Mark Clark (IMH) will occur May 22 & 23, 2013.  This course is required for all GSBS students and postdoctoral fellows.



5.      The Nursing PhD graduate program will undergo an external review on May 29 & 30, 2013.  The Master of Medical Science graduate program will undergo an external review on August 22, 2013.