Dedication Day

On Tuesday, November 11, 2008 the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston held formal dedication ceremonies to mark the completion of the Galveston National Laboratory. This momentous day celebrated the end of more than five years of work on the design, engineering and construction of this important facility.

Hurricane Ike dealt a devastating blow to Galveston in September, but the GNL emerged unscathed from the storm due to its multiple redundant safety and engineering features. The dedication of the GNL was a testament to the strength and resilience of the UTMB community.

United States Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and Carole A. Heilman, Ph.D., director of the Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (DMID) of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) served as keynote speakers at the dedication ceremony.

Watch the dedication ceremony here, in it's entirety.

An afternoon scientific symposium featured prominent infectious disease scientists:

Dr. Michael Kurilla, Director of the Office of BioDefense Research Affairs, Division of Microbiology & Infectious Diseases, Associate Director, BioDefense Product Development, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Emerging & Re-emerging Infectious Diseases: The Perpetual Challenge

Dr. Thomas P. Monath, Partner, Pandemic and Biodefense Fund, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Progress Toward the Control of Dengue Through Vaccination

Dr. Jerald C. Sadoff, President and CEO, Aeras Global TB Vaccine Foundation

Vaccines Against Tuberculosis

Dr. Peter Mason, Professor, Department of Pathology, UTMB

Using Rational Design and Darwinian Selection to Improve Potency of Single-Cycle Flavivirus Vaccine Candidates

Dr. Thomas G. Ksiazek, Chief, Special Pathogens Branch, Division of Viral and Rickettsial Diseases, National Center for Zoonotic, Vector-Borne, and Enteric Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

A Historical Perspective on the Search for Reservoirs of the Filoviruses

Dr. Barry J. Beaty, University Distinguished Professor, Colorado State University Chief Scientific Officer, MicroRX Infectious Disease Supercluster

Microbial Threats in the New Millennium: Epidemic Dengue and Dengue Hemorrhagic Fever in the Americas

Photos from the dedication day events are coming soon!