« back
iUTMB  •  Published Friday, April 6, 2018, 2:43 PM

Congratulations to UTMB's winners of the Regents' Outstanding Employee Award

We are very pleased and proud to announce that three UTMB employees have been chosen as inaugural recipients of the Regents’ Outstanding Employee Award. Please join us in congratulating Chad Connally, RN, BSN, CEN, Nursing Program Manager, Emergency Services Administration; Mike Mastrangelo, Program Director, Institutional Preparedness—Facilities Risk Management; and Scott Woodby, RN, Nurse Clinician V, MICU/CCU, on this prestigious recognition.

Chad, Mike and Scott were among 34 UTMB nominees for the award, which was created by The University of Texas System Board of Regents to recognize full-time, benefits-eligible, non-faculty employees who have shown outstanding performance, innovation, enthusiasm and dedication in their jobs. Equal consideration was made to employees across all job categories.

Selection was based on the impact the employee has made in his or her individual job and how this impact has helped improve our institution. Each nomination included supporting letters from departmental peers, supervisors and colleagues outside of the nominee’s department, truly reflecting the far-reaching influence such outstanding performance can have on UTMB and our mission.

Thirty awards were given out this year across the 14 UT System institutions and the UT System Administration. The winners will receive a Chancellor’s challenge coin, a certificate, a $10,000 monetary award and an invitation to a luncheon ceremony in Austin.

The caliber of our winners and nominees reflected the excellence found throughout our great institution. We look forward to submitting equally outstanding nominees in future years. We’ve posted more detailed information about Chad, Mike and Scott and their contributions to our mission at www.utmb.edu/eac. And, again, hearty congratulations to each of our 2018 Regents' Outstanding Employee Award winners. You have done UTMB proud!


Dr. David L. Callender
President, UTMB Health
Tilly Clark
Chair, UTMB Employee Advisory Council