« back
iUTMB  •  Published Thursday, March 20, 2014, 5:07 PM

Rudkin to Give Annual Dean’s Lecture March 28

Laura L Rudkin, professor and Centennial Chair of the UTMB Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health, will give the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences’ annual Dean’s Lecture during Homecoming 2014 at 4 p.m. Friday, March 28, in Levin Hall South on the UTMB campus.

“Preventive Medicine and Public Health at UTMB: Past Contributions, Future Possibilities” is the topic of Rudkin’s lecture, recognizing the recent centennial anniversary of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health at UTMB.

Rudkin is project director for Primary Care Plus at UTMB, a program that integrates primary care and public health training for medical and physician assistant students. Responding to the 2011 National Prevention Strategy, Rudkin developed Primary Care Plus to foster effective partnerships between health care professionals and community groups that share the goals of improved population health and reduced health disparities.

David W. Niesel, GSBS dean, said, “Dr. Rudkin’s initiative has made Primary Care Plus the vanguard for M.D. and MPAS students committed to careers in primary care. This new cross-trained workforce has the potential to spearhead changes that can fundamentally improve the landscape of public health in the communities they serve.”

Rudkin’s national preeminence in today’s pivotal fields of public health and preventive medicine is reflected by her service as president of the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research and as the Public Health and Preventive Medicine Representative to the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies, Association of American Medical Colleges.

In 2013, Rudkin received the University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award for Health. The Association for Prevention Teaching and Research recognized her department in 2012 with the Outstanding Educational Program Award for Public Health Education. In 2008, she was elected to the UTMB Academy of Master Teachers, followed by an appointment as Distinguished Teaching Professor by the UT System. The Graduate Student Organization honored Dr. Rudkin in 2009 with the GSO Student Advocacy Award, acknowledging her role in the unequivocal success of her students.

Rudkin graduated from the University of Iowa, where she earned a BA in journalism with High Distinction and an MA in sociology. From there she went to on to earn her Ph.D. in sociology and demography from Princeton University, where she received the MacArthur Foundation Award in 1990 and was appointed to a MacArthur Fellowship in Population and International Affairs in 1991. She continued her post-doctoral research at the University of North Carolina before coming to UTMB in 1993.

Niesel invites the campus to attend the fifth annual Dean’s Lecture and the reception afterwards in the Graduate School offices, Levin Hall Room 4.338.