Neuroscience Graduate Program News and Updates

Congratulations to the 2019 NGP Graduates, who celebrated their achievement on May 17, 2019.

2019 NGP Graduates

Pictured, from left to right, Dr. Francesco Cappello (Unipa), Whitney Franklin, Kara Barber, Wenjuan Ru, Emanuele Mocciaro, Filippa Lo Cascio, Claudia Marino, Dr. Owen Hamill (not present Dr. Hossein Khanamiri)

The 2018 Beall Lecture was given by Jeffrey Noebels on September 5th, 2018, titled 'Dissecting the Genetic Borderland of Epilepsy and Alzheimer’s Disease'.noebels-photo

Pictured is Kathleen McDonough, Jeffrey Noebels and Amanda Shaw.

The winners of the Dr. and Mrs. Seymour Fisher Academic Excellence Awards in Neuroscience will give oral presentations of their winning papers and receive their awards at a special ceremony at 12 on the 16th of July.

  • Michele Comerota-Near infrared light decreases synaptic vulnerability to amyloid beta oligomers

  • Filippa Lo Casio- Azure C targets and modulates toxic tau oligomers

  • Claudia Soto- In vitro and In vivo analyses of novel peptidomimetic disruptors for the serotonin 5-HT2C receptor interaction with phosphatase and tensin homolog (PTEN)

The 2018 Fisher Academic Excellence Award Winners are: Michele Comerota, Filippa Lo Casio, and Claudia Soto.

Congratulations to the 2018 NGP graduates! On 5/18/2018 the following NGP students were awarded their PhD: Michele Comerota, Ibdanelo Cortez, and Anita Randolph.

We are all looking forward to the Summer NGP student symposium to be held on the 16th and 17th 0f July.

Congratulations to Dr. Elizabeth J. Crofton for successfully completing her dissertation defense on July 11, 2017. "Cellular mechanisms of environmental enrichment: Novel discovery-based strategies for target identification for neuropsychiatric disorders