Anish Bhardwaj, M.D., M.B.A., C.P.E., FAHA,

Chairman and Professor
Department of Neurology
John Sealy Chair of Neurology
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Division/ Program Title:

Department of Neurology

Mailing Address:

301 University Blvd, Route 0539
Galveston, TX 77555-0539


9.128 John Sealy Annex


(409) 772-8068


(409) 772-6940

Education and Post Graduate Training:


  • Medical School: College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria (1978-1984)
  • Research Fellowship: Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York (1987-1989)
  • Neurology Residency: Mount Sinai School of Medicine (1989-1993)
  • Fellowship in Neurosciences Critical Care: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (1993-1995)
  • Fellowship, National Stroke Association, Johns Hopkins University SOM, Baltimore, Maryland (1994-1995)
  • Masters in Business Administration (MBA), D’Amore-McKim School of Business, Northeastern University, Boston, MA (2011-2013)
  • Program for Chiefs of Clinical Services, Department of Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health (2013)
  • Physician Executive Certification (CPE) Program, Certifying Commission in Medical Management (CCMM) (2013)
  • Link to CV

Board Certifications:

  • Neurology: American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN)
  • Vascular Neurology: ABPN
  • Neurocritical Care: United Council on Neurological Specialties (UCNS)


  • Vascular Neurology
  • Neurocritical Care

Clinical Interest:

  • Vascular Neurology (Stroke)
  • Neurocritical Care (Providing comprehensive care to critically ill neurological and neurosurgical patients)

Research Interest:

  • Neuroprotective clinical trials in focal cerebral ischemia
  • Monitoring techniques in critically ill patients with acute brain injury from diverse etiologies
  • In vivo pathophysiological mechanisms of ischemic neuronal injury in appropriate animal models of cerebral ischemia
  • In vivo regional neurochemistry in brain injury paradigms
    Pathophysiological mechanisms in cerebral ischemia-evoked cerebral edema
  • Pharmacological neuroprotection in ischemic stroke
  • Osmotherapy in brain injury

Selected Publications:

  • Selected from 135 peer reviewed articles, book chapters, reviews, editorials, 5 books and 130 abstracts
  • Zeynalov E, Chen C-H, Adams M, Froehner S, Ottersen OP, Amiry-Moghaddam M, Bhardwaj A. The perivascular pool of Aquaporin-4 mediates the effect of osmotherapy in post-ischemic edema. Crit Care Med 36(9):2634-40, 2008.
  • Stevens RD, Bhardwaj A. Eryrthropoietin and the promise of ischemic multi-organ protection. Crit Care Med 36(8); 2446-7: 2008.
  • Liu X, Zhang W, Alkayed NJ, Froeher SC, Adams ME, Amiry-Moghaddam M, Ottersen OP, Hurn PD, Bhardwaj A. Lack of Sex-Linked Differences in Cerebral Edema and Aquaporin-4 Expression after Experimental Stroke. J Cereb Blood Flow Metab28(12):1898-906, 2008.
  • Fields JD, Bhardwaj A. Non-Peptide Arginine-Vasopressin Antagonists for the treatment of hyponatremia in Neurocritical Care: A new alternative? Neurocrit Care, 11(1):1-4; 2009.
  • Fields JD, Bhardwaj A. Antiedema effects of hypertonic saline following spinal cord injury. Crit Care Med, 37(7):2306-7: 2009.
  • Bhardwaj A. Molecular targets for ameliorating early brain injury post subarachnoid hemorrhage: A new focus. Crit Care Med, 38(2):727-8; 2010.
  • Liu X, Nakayama S, Amiry-Moghaddam M, Ottersen OP,Bhardwaj A. Arginine-vasopressin V1 but not V2 receptor antagonism modulates infarct volume, brain water content and aquaporin-4 expression following experimental stroke. Neurocrit Care; 12(1):124-31; 2010.
  • Migiliati E, Amiry-Moghaddam M, Adams M, Froeher S, Ottersen OP, Bhardwaj A. Na+-K+-2Cl- cotransport inhibitor attenuates cerebral edema following experimental stroke via the perivascular pool of aquaporin-4. Neurocrit Care;13(1):123-31; 2010.
  • Bhardwaj A. Experimental studies on ischemic neuroprotection: Criterion for translational significance. Crit Care Med, 39(5):1230-1; 2011.
  • Bhardwaj A. Statins as neuroprotectants after subarachnoid hemorrhage. Critic Care Med, 40(2):695-7; 2012.
  • Schirmer CM, Kornbluth J, Heilman CB, Bhardwaj A. Gastrointestinal Prophylaxis in Neurocritical Care. Neurocrit Care; 16(1):184-93; 2012.
  • Levin B, Bhardwaj A. Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy. Neurocritical Care; 20(2):334-44; 2014.
  • Nakayama S, Amiry-Moghaddam M, Ottersen OP, Bhardwaj A. Conivaptan, a Selective Arginine Vasopressin V1a and V2 Receptor Antagonist Attenuates Global Cerebral Edema following Experimental Cardiac Arrest via Perivascular Pool of Aquaporin-4. Neurocritical Care; 2016 Jan 5. [Epub ahead of print]

For full list of publications:

Honors and Awards:

  • 2016 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Award, UTMB
  • 2015 Thomas D. Sabin, M.D. Visiting Professorship, Department of Neurology, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA
  • 2012 Elected Fellow, American Neurological Association (FANA)
  • 2012 The “Lester” Teaching Award by Neurology Residents, TUSM
  • 2011, 2012 U.S. News & World Report, America’s Top Doctors
  • 2009 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Neurology (FAAN)
  • 2008 Professional Staff Chair’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to Innovation in New Models of Clinical Care, Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU)
  • 2006 Medical/Professional Staff Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution in Clinical Care Quality, OHSU
  • 2005 Elected Fellow, American College of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM)
  • 2002 *Elected Member, American Neurological Association (ANA)
  • 2001 Fellow, American Heart Association (FAHA)
  • 2001-2004 Established Investigator Award, American Heart Association (AHA)
  • 1996, 1997 Richard S. Ross Clinician-Scientist Award, Johns Hopkins University, SOM
  • 1996 * Elected Fellow, Stroke Council, American Heart Association (AHA)
  • 1996-2001 Clinician-Scientist Award, American Heart Association (AHA)
  • 1995 Honorable Mention-Robert G. Siekert Young Investigator Award in Stroke, AHA
  • 1994-1996 Fellowship Career Development Award, National Stroke Association
  • 1993 Resident of the Year, Department of Neurology, Mount Sinai SOM, New York
  • 1993 Bella Trachtenberg/Association of Attending Staff Award for House Staff Excellence, Mount Sinai SOM, New York
  • 1992 Chief Resident, Department of Neurology, Mount Sinai SOM, New York
  • 1984 Alice Moboade Akinyele Memorial Prize in Medicine, College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria


  • 2002-2005 Member, National Institutes of Health- FO1 Fellowship Study Section in Brain Disorders and Clinical Neuroscience
  • 2002-2006 Member, American Heart Association - Brain 1/Stroke Study Group
  • 2004-2009 Member, NINDS Brain Injury and Neurovascular Pathologies ZRG1 BDCN-L (90)
  • 2004 Ad-hoc Reviewer, Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research
  • 2005 Member, Study Section, Bugher Foundation Award, American Heart Association
  • 2007-2008 Chair, Brain 1 Study Section, National American Heart Association
  • 2003- 2005 Member, Editorial Board - American Journal of Physiology
  • 2002- 2008 Guest Editor - Stroke
  • 2004-Present Member, Editorial Board - Critical Care Medicine
  • 2004-2012 Member, Editorial Board - Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism
  • 2005-2013 Member, Editorial Board - Stroke
  • 2008-Present International Editor, Tzu Chi Medical Journal
  • 2008-Present Member, Editorial Board, Neurocritical Care
  • 2008-Present Member, Editorial Board, Case Reports in Medicine
  • 2009-Present Member, Editorial Board, Translational Stroke Research
  • 2009-Present Member, Editorial Board, Hospital Practice