« Back

The UTMB Honor Pledge

The idea of creating a unifying statement for the entire campus about professionalism originated from the Honor Education Council. To accomplish this, the Honor Pledge Committee was formed in the early summer of 2002, made up of two students and the associate dean to represent each of UTMB's four schools.

The group crafted the resulting Student Honor Pledge, which was first rolled out at Student Orientation in August of 2002 and then rolled out to the entire campus on January 22, 2003. Following the event, the Honor Pledge Committee worked to ensure that the new pledge was included in student course materials and adorned on walls in key buildings across campus. Students also shared the pledge with other non-student audiences including the President's Council, Support Staff Conference attendees and to alumni who attended Homecoming Weekend.

The UTMB Honor Pledge encapsulates the key principles behind professionalism.

UTMB Student Honor Pledge
"On my honor, as a member of the UTMB community, I pledge to act with integrity, compassion and respect in all my academic and professional endeavors."

Honor Pledge Committee FY16

  • Matthew Igbinigie  (SOM)
Vice President
  • Funmi Babalola (SOM)
Community Relations Directors
  • Karis Norwood (SOM)
  • Jeff Abass (SOM)
Professionalism Directors
  • Oliver Lee (SOM)
  • Ennert Manyeza (SHP)
Student Engagement Directors
  • Davina Sassoon (SOM)
  • Logan Walsh (SOM)
  • Andrea Heier (SOM)
1st Year Representatives
  • Madiha Merchant (SHP)
  • Jake Gibbons (SOM)